Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 12-13-2006, 08:37 AM   #1
Bus Nut

Year: 1993
Coachwork: Carpenter
Chassis: International
Engine: 7.3 International diesel
Rated Cap: 60
How many microns for veggie oil?

I am interested in converting my engine over to veggie oil and am researching the project. I am an aircraft mechanic for a living and where I work, we do week long inspections on the E-3 AWACS every 6 months. Every time a jet comes in, we change all of the fuel filters on the engines. They are about 4 inches tall, and as big around as a coffee can. They get changed every 6 months and they are like brand spanking new when we change them. Then we just throw them away... They filter down to 30 microns. I could easily make something to use them to filter heated veggie oil. Is 30 microns small enough to put oil in my veggie tank at least? How many microns do I need to be down to before it goes into my engine? How many microns does a typical diesel fuel filter, filter down to? Thanks for any info!

https://i74.photobucket.com/albums/i2...DSC02426-1.jpg
KC10Chief is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2006, 10:35 AM   #2
Bus Geek

Send a message via MSN to the_experience03 Send a message via Yahoo to the_experience03
Most people filter to 5 microns. Some fanatics even go as small as 1-2 microns. Either way, the factory fuel filters at best will do about 10 microns. I would assume the difference between these and jets might have to do with the mirror surfaces within the injecter pump versus the "looser" tolerances within a jet engine, but that is simply speculation. It is important to realize that microns ratings are done differently. I would lean to the conservative side and go to atleast 5 microns if you are using the typical water filter trick or filter bags.
Old 12-14-2006, 01:00 AM   #3
Bus Nut