Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 06-07-2015, 06:00 AM   #1
Mini-Skoolie

Intl 3800 fuel trouble

I own a '90 3800 dual tank WVO/diesel conversion that I bought from the guy who did the conversion. I'm not a mechanic by any means. I just got back from a 3 week trip that required me to learn some basics about my vehicle. It's ok. I knew I'd never get around to learning if I didn't get myself stuck somewhere.

The good news is that I know a lot more than I used to about collecting/refining WVO, vehicle electrical systems, vapor lock, and where to find my throttle cable when it snaps in the middle of a busy street in baltimore during rush hour.

On the last leg of my trip (cleveland to columbus, oh) I ran on diesel because I was out of veg and needed to get home, but my mileage plummeted. I need to find and fix the problem before I can go on another trip. I think I was getting something like 1-2 mpg.

Here's what I know:

1. I got ~13 mpg diesel when I didn't have veg earlier in my trip.

2. the engine ran fine even when my mileage was terrible. no loss of power, weird noises, etc.

3. I almost certainly have veg in my diesel tank (and vice versa) because I mixed up the return switches at various points on the trip. they were never labled Luckily the weather was between 80 and 90 degrees F during the day while I was on the road.

4. I need to drain my diesel tank to get any remaining veg out and pump fresh diesel back in.