Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 03-05-2017, 05:59 PM   #1

Question Buying OUT-OF-STATE - what goes into transporting it? Insurance, etc.

Hi all,

I am very new to all of this, but am currently looking into purchasing a skoolie out of state (Arizona) and bringing it back to Colorado where I am currently residing (although I don't have a permanent address here, yet... I'm looking into places to park it for a long period of time and any advice on this would also help).

I was wondering what goes into this regarding registration and insurance, especially since I am not planning on moving the vehicle for an indefinite period of time once it is back and parked in Colorado. I just plan to live out of it on my off-time from work.

Can anyone give me a basic step by step on what to expect? Is there a way to get insurance just for the time I am transporting it from Arizona to Colorado? Am I better off looking into getting it transported for me, to avoid the insurance process, if I am not planning on driving the vehicle for an extended period of time after that?

FYI: The bus is almost fully converted (toilet, shower, kitchen sink & cabinets, seating area, etc.)

I would appreciate any and all help on this... or just a push in the right direction in terms of resources to look into on this subject.

Thanks so much!!

oceanos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2017, 07:28 PM   #2
Bus Crazy

Year: 1993
Coachwork: bluebird
Engine: 5.9 Cummins, Allison AT1545
Rated Cap: 2
here is a thread on the topic:

http://www.skoolie.net/forums/f13/co...ce-9091-3.html

good luck
Old 03-05-2017, 08:47 PM   #3
Bus Crazy

Year: 2000
Chassis: Blue Bird
Engine: ISC 8.3