Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 09-23-2016, 08:20 AM   #1
Bus Geek

Year: 1991
Coachwork: Carpenter
Chassis: International 3800
Engine: DTA360 / MT643
Rated Cap: 7 Row Handicap
got a bus in TX how do I drive it away?

Ok so i sort of bid on an auction, then sort of won! yeoow! so now I have need to pick up a bus in texas and drive it to ohio or florida..

im assuming i'll get a clear title from the auction company.. but in the houston area, how do I get a tag of some sort to drive it across the country ?

is there a way to get a temp tag in texas even though im an ohio resident?

if I just put a sign on it that says "vehicle in transit" am I gonna get bugged by every statie from texas to florida?

what have other out-of-staters done when buying in texas and driving out?

Go!
-Christopher

cadillackid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2016, 08:38 AM   #2

Year: 2002
Coachwork: Thomas
Rated Cap: 72
We recently bought ours in Maryland and we live in Florida. We were able to get the title mailed to us. With the title, buyer's certificate, insurance, and driver's license I was able to walk out of the DMV with a temporary tag (30 days). I just stated that the vehicle was out of state and I needed a way to legally get it down. If they try to give you a hard time maybe ask for another person. I had to talk to two different people, one of which gave me the okay for a temp tag. They did ask the empty shipping weight of the bus and luckily I was able to find it online. I would suggest having this info as well.
That was two weeks ago and now I am trying to get it registered as a RV. I found a forum on here from 2 years back with info on that. Not sure which state you live in but it wasn't too much of hassle here in Florida. Congratulations and good luck!!
-Lindsay
lindsaydagnew is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2016, 08:45 AM   #3
Bus Geek