Re: Maine titling and registration
If you do this, you should set up a Maine corporation or something. For a NY resident to not have NY tags on a personally-owned vehicle operated in the state, it is a violation of VTL 401, and can get you a $300 fine plus court costs and 15 days in jail.
Expect a gung-ho cop to get you as both unregistered and uninspected, Maine plates notwithstanding.
This plan may work for people living in more reasonable states. Or maybe not.
Someone said "Making good decisions comes from experience, experience comes from bad decisions." I say there are three kinds of people: those who learn from their mistakes, those who learn from the mistakes of others, and those who never learn.