Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 08-19-2018, 09:40 AM   #1

Year: 1998
Engine: V8
Post NH Title + Registeration as RV HELP!

Hey, so I'm a total noobie and have more questions I was wondering if anyone from NH might be able to help me with!

I just bought my 1998 skoolie to convert and will be trying to change the registration and everything over to an RV/MH as soon as possible so there are no complications with me driving it places non-CDL.
I have the title (signed the back with the seller, but haven't sent it out to have it updated to my name yet.) AND a bill of sale.

From everything I read online, the Webster town Clerk's office is willing to register a vehicle with just the bill of sale and a Vin verification. I'll be going to get the Verification from somewhere this weekend, just so I have it in the future since the Title will take 40-50 days to come back to me updated.

My questions are:
-Does anyone know what the requirements are for NH RV conversions? Like their 4 out of 5 list, I can't seem to find it anywhere on their websites....

-Should I just take the Vin Verification and The Bill of Sale to the town clerk and say, "This is a WIP converted motor home, I want it registered as such?"

-Do I need to have the title updated and changed (via the VT route) BEFORE I can do this?

But I'm not sure if where the original title may be required for this process before I send it out to be destroyed and a new one issued to me proper. However, with the Vin verification I don't technically "need" the title anymore.

Any help is greatly appreciated. I need to put in some more calls to the DMV for sure about parts of this but most of the people I spoke with so far haven't been very helpful.

Thedinosaurmann is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2018, 10:02 AM   #2
Bus Geek

Year: 2002
Coachwork: Bluebird
Chassis: All American RE (A3RE)
Engine: Cummins ISC (8.3)