Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 01-18-2009, 03:54 PM   #1
Almost There

Need advice on I-80 in Utah and Wyoming

Im looking to buy another bus and drive it from Utah back to Cincinnati, OH. The start would be near Salt Lake City. Has anybody ever tried to drive that stretch of road in the winter in a bus with no snow-chains? Do you recommend it? I know how to drive in the snow, but some of the horror stories I've heard have me wanting to store it till spring then try the trip then.

Castro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2009, 07:03 PM   #2
Mini-Skoolie

Re: Need advice on I-80 in Utah and Wyoming

The conditions out there change hourly! You cannot leave the house and check the weather and decide all is good to go. You will have to always be on alert! I drive truck for a living and I know we HAVE to carry chains. I don't really know about passangers cars but as a school bus you might very well be considered commercial therefore subject to fines if you don;t have them. Good Luck
letz4wheel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2009, 11:02 PM   #3
Almost There

Thanks for the replies, all. He is willing to keep it till spring. I might take him up on the offer. I just found out it does have automatic chains, so that is a plus. This all may be a moot point as this is a bidding process and if it goes too high, Im not going to chase it considering the distance. Im bidding on a TC2000.

This one was black, had no rust, and titled as an RV.