Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 05-31-2017, 08:59 PM   #1

Year: 1988
Engine: Chevy 350
Rated Cap: 12
1988 GMC G3500 Vandura

Hey guys,
This is my first build and post. Bought this bad boy about 6 weeks ago and just started the conversion a few days ago. Got the walls and crappy insulation out and about half of the old subfloor out so far.

I'm currently stuck because my wheelchair lift's hydraulic fluid seems as if it is connected to the power steering. Anyone have suggestions on what to do from here? Been looking at other threads but have come up empty with suggestions on dealing with this specifically.

Thank you and happy skooling
Attached Thumbnails
IMG_1056.jpg  

Vandurado is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2017, 09:02 PM   #2
Bus Nut

I didnt have the lift in mine when i got it. Sorry cant help with that. If your short enough insulate the floor up front good. My biggest issue is too much floor heat in the front half of the bus.

Sent from my VS986 using Tapatalk
yellowxj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2017, 09:23 PM   #3
Bus Geek

Coachwork: 97 Bluebird TC1000 5.9
I've never heard of a chair lift powered by the power steering pump, but anything is possible. Generally they are electric/hydraulic with their own electric motor. You should be able to identify a couple large electrical cables under the floor.

There are more qualified people here that will know and you'll have lots of answers within a couple days.

Congrats on the shorty.
Old 05-31-2017, 10:03 PM   #4
Bus Crazy

Year: 1997
Coachwork: Bluebird
Chassis: GMC
Engine: Cat 3116
Rated Cap: 72
Wouldd posting a couple of pics of your eering pump from a couple of angles. This all seems like a y way of running a liftpump but who knows, not me.
Are you positive this is the case?

John
Old 05-31-2017, 11:56 PM   #5

Quote:
Originally Posted by Robin97396 View Post