Old 11-20-2015, 10:07 AM   #1
Skoolie

Year: 2000
Coachwork: GMC Micro Bluebird
Engine: 6.5 TD
Rated Cap: 19 ... 4 window
B.S.U.R. or just B.

B.S.U.R. S.U.C.I.M,I.M.

So read the title and lyrics to an old James Taylor song. My wife and I have shortened up that simple message to ... Just Be ... or "B" ... and that is the name of our bus.

I introduced B to y'all back in this thread:

http://www.skoolie.net/forums/f6/another-short-skoolie-10865.html

After much maintenance work, many false starts and other hang-ups ... I FINALLY have a blank canvas.

As a mechanic, I wanted to make certain that B was right for the road before doing anything else. I got B through a private sale, not an auction. I was able to spend a lot of time looking her over before I paid any money. Now that I've got her stripped down, I can see that the inspection paid off ... she really is in very good shape. I have ZERO rust or rot problems to deal with ... and a sound diesel engine.

I pulled out the seats, floors, walls, insulation, signs, warning buzzers and mirrors I didn't want. I also carved out all of the old caulking, power-washed the exterior, with particular attention to the roof and its seams. I re-caulked the hull with elastomeric caulk and put 3 coats of elastomeric paint on the upper part of the bus and roof.

Once I knew the hull was OK ... I brought all the bus mechanicals up to snuff. The engine is in very good shape and runs nicely. I saw a small drip from the water pump, and an oil leak from the front of the engine. I power washed the engine bay and got started, with almost 200,000 miles, I replaced the timing chain, front seal, harmonic balancer, valve cover gaskets, water pump and thermostats, flushed the cooling system, new belts and hoses and put 4 new tires on the rear, which, with the 2 new tires that came on the front, gives me a complete new set of tires on the bus.