Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 12-19-2012, 11:58 AM   #1
Mini-Skoolie

Year: 1973
Coachwork: Chevy
Chassis: Step Van
Engine: Chevy 350
Rated Cap: 2
Chevy Step Van (not a bus, exactly) Black Water Problem

Hi Everyone!

I'm new to skoolie.net. The RV Escapees folks told me to take my conversion crap over to this forum and leave them alone. Bunch of curmudgeons.

But really, the info here looks really awesome and I look forward to absorbing the great knowledge!

My wife and I just bought a 1973 Chevy Step Van. It's about 19 feet long and we're in the process of converting it over. Ran in to an issue yesterday with our plans - we have no place for a grey/black combo tank under the vehicle. The space I found that fits between the rear hitch assembly, side wall, and tailpipe that still gives me good road clearance is about 9.5" x 20" x 10". Not a lot of space, especially for a combo tank (6 gallons, I think, will fit). Right now it'll be for toilet and a sink only. Probably will never put a shower inside, just have it outside and put up a curtain. Cold days will make me question this decision, but whatever.

Here's the question: is it legit to keep the black tank inside the vehicle? I can't cut up the floor at all, but I have space in the rear to fit a 20 gallon tank that drains out the bottom of the vehicle between two of the floor ribs. I was thinking I could build a little pedestal for the toilet to go over top. Am I opening myself up to something really disgusting and problematic, or is this ok?

Thank you!

Old 12-19-2012, 06:00 PM   #2
Bus Nut

Re: Chevy Step Van (not a bus, exactly) Black Water Problem

Yes, you can put the tanks inside..... Just elevate the commode above the tank. The grey tank will be more of a problem... not so much for the kitchen sink, or bath room sink but for the shower.....