Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 10-03-2016, 11:37 PM   #1
Skoolie

Year: 2007
Coachwork: Thomas Saf-T-Liner
Chassis: HDX with lift
Engine: Mercedes MBE 920
Rated Cap: 22
Electrical Questions

Okay, so I got my 1982 Carpenter 7 row home. Yanked all the seats out, now I'm looking at the electrical system. For the record, I am a better mechanic than I am an electrician, but here's what I found:

A bank of 3 batteries, wired in parallel. Calling the manufacturer, I found they are 12v 700 amp starting (as opposed to deep cycle) batteries. So, am I right that I am getting 12 volts and 2100 amps of cranking power? (The engine starts up in, literally, less than a second, so it could be).

The other thing is, I had thought the air conditioner didn't work, but it turns out it does. I think the refrigerant is low, so it takes a bit to get going, but it eventually blows what is definitely refrigerated air. So, I am going to keep it, even though it's monstrously large with an underbody condenser bigger than the fuel tank and two evaporators inside, about 3feet long, each with two fans. I assume the A/C is why there is 2100 amps of battery power.

So, here's my question: Is that giant air conditioning system running on 12v DC? Or is there an AC inverter somewhere in there? If it's 12v DC, it would be easy to tap in to those wires to add some 12v appliances and sockets and what not.

The battery bank is all one, not separated into engine and coach, so I also assume I can't run the a/c too long without the engine running to charge them.

So...should I isolate two of the batterys and replace them with deep cycle to run the A/C and such in the coach? I am pretty sure one starting battery would be sufficient for the engine, and leaving the a/c on while parked would be nice.