Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 06-24-2010, 09:46 AM   #1

Hurri-Hot heater question

I have a 1989 Bluebird shorty and need some insight into a heater question. My bus is equipped with a Hurri-Hot heater to the left of the driver's seat. This thing gets hot as the devil while the bus is running (to the point that it is painful for my leg to touch it). It is summer and I have not adjusted the knob. My question is, can I turn the water flow knob "off" without screwing things up when the weather is warm. I have no experience with a heater of this kind so I apologize for my ignorance.

I'll post photos of the bus later today...finally have the paint and everything the way I want it. Just waiting for the camera to charge.

scooter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2010, 09:57 AM   #2
Bus Crazy

Send a message via AIM to Steve
Re: Hurri-Hot heater question

Normally water valves are installed by the factory or the next owner to turn off the water flow back to the heater. If you bus does not have them you can just cut the inlet and outlet lines that run back to the heater install a valve on each without messing anything up.

Steve is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2010, 11:18 AM   #3

Year: 1995
Coachwork: Thomas
Chassis: 3800
Engine: DT408, AT545
Rated Cap: 23 500 gvw

Just make sure you are putting the valve in the right hose. If you are not sure, ask a mechanic. Cut off the flow on the wrong hose and you might turn your motor into a boat anchor.

You Gotta Let Me Fly
crazycal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2010, 11:19 AM   #4
Skoolie

Year: 1999
Coachwork: AmTran RE
Chassis: International
Engine: T444E
Rated Cap: 72