Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-13-2015, 10:03 AM   #1
Mini-Skoolie
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Posts: 17
Installing House Batteries

I am debating my options on the location of my two new 6v golf cart batteries and wondering if I could switch my two starting batteries for one group 31 so that I could fit the (1)starting battery and (2)house batteries in the factory battery box (International 3800 shorty)

It is raining now so I cant go measure but I wonder if anyone has swapped the two starting batteries for one larger one.

Thanks
05Willys is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2015, 10:21 AM   #2
Bus Crazy
 
Scooternj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: EHT New Jersey
Posts: 1,134
Year: 2003
Coachwork: AmTran
Chassis: International 3000RE
Engine: T444E/AT545
Rated Cap: 75
Quote:
Originally Posted by 05Willys View Post
I am debating my options on the location of my two new 6v golf cart batteries and wondering if I could switch my two starting batteries for one group 31 so that I could fit the (1)starting battery and (2)house batteries in the factory battery box (International 3800 shorty)

It is raining now so I cant go measure but I wonder if anyone has swapped the two starting batteries for one larger one.

Thanks
I replaced the crappy batteries that the bus company provided with a Powermaster 8D, but takes up the entire tray
__________________
Hey! That's not an RV, that's a school bus.
Well thank you for noticing, Captain Obvious

Captain Obvious on deviantArt
Scooternj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2015, 10:27 AM   #3
Mini-Skoolie
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Posts: 17
O, bummer. Well, that solves that.
05Willys is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2015, 01:03 PM   #4
Bus Crazy
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Sault Ste. Marie, Ontario
Posts: 1,439
Year: 1997
Coachwork: Thomas
Chassis: B3800 Short bus
Engine: T444E
Rated Cap: 36
What engine are you turning over? I've been fine using a single GR31 for the T444e: Batteries Expert - BATT GR 31 1130CA 1000CCA STUD MF

The only time I ran it down while trying to start was when it was -20C and the glow plug relay wasn't working.
__________________
My build page: Armageddon - The Smell of Airborne Rust
jazty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2015, 01:25 PM   #5
Mini-Skoolie
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Posts: 17
DT466e. It has 2 interstate batteries in there. Not sure what group size.
05Willys is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2015, 01:30 PM   #6
Bus Crazy
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Sault Ste. Marie, Ontario
Posts: 1,439
Year: 1997
Coachwork: Thomas
Chassis: B3800 Short bus
Engine: T444E
Rated Cap: 36
Are the 2 batteries you have the same size as the picture posted above (which is an 8d)? You could always try disconnecting one and see how it starts.

I would guess that the highest rated group 31 would be the most minimum possible to get the DT466 started, but it could work.

I guess the other question is whether you're in a warm, or cold climate. In a cold climate you'll want more battery power.
__________________
My build page: Armageddon - The Smell of Airborne Rust
jazty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2015, 06:49 PM   #7
Mini-Skoolie
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Posts: 17
Mine looks like a normal truck battery size not one of those beasts.
05Willys is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2015, 07:51 PM   #8
Bus Crazy
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Sault Ste. Marie, Ontario
Posts: 1,439
Year: 1997
Coachwork: Thomas
Chassis: B3800 Short bus
Engine: T444E
Rated Cap: 36
Quote:
Originally Posted by 05Willys View Post
Mine looks like a normal truck battery size not one of those beasts.
Well there you go. Disconnect one, see how it starts. If it's acceptable to you then just use one. You'll have the house batteries to boost off of if necessary. Two is better than one, but it's your bus and you call the shots..

If it barely turns over then keep both and figure out another place to put the house batteries.
__________________
My build page: Armageddon - The Smell of Airborne Rust
jazty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2015, 07:53 PM   #9
Bus Crazy
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Sault Ste. Marie, Ontario
Posts: 1,439
Year: 1997
Coachwork: Thomas
Chassis: B3800 Short bus
Engine: T444E
Rated Cap: 36
By the way, you only need to remove the ground from one to disable it.. Leave positive on the terminal so it doesn't short on the battery box..
__________________
My build page: Armageddon - The Smell of Airborne Rust
jazty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2015, 02:44 PM   #10
Mini-Skoolie
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Posts: 17
I put the batteries in from of the original battery box and used the additional space in the battery box to mount my MPPT controller.

This is not perfect because it was unbelievably hard to get the batteries in there, I wish I had cut out the upper stair in the stairwell and made a box under there.



The wire runs in to a steel chanel.



And out on the bottom



The wires etc are just temped in to test the setup. 2.9amps in heavy shade!



These are two pvl-144 panels from UniSolar. I cut them and re-soldiered the leads to connect the cut off parts. I was VERY relieved when I plugged it all in and it worked.
05Willys is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
battery, box, location, skoolie

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:59 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.