Old 12-03-2017, 10:31 PM   #1
Mini-Skoolie

Looking for a shorty

Hello 'erryone, first post here. Im totally new to this, but ive been lurking 'round here for a while, and i really appreciate all the resources and information here. Forgive my noobieness.

I'm hoping to find a bus soon and start a conversion, just havent found the right bus yet. The bus will be for my significant other and I to travel and live in, full time. I have very limited experience in construction, but that's about to change.

Here's the specs we are looking for in a bus.

No rust
Automatic
Fuel injection
Not a Ford
Dog nose
Engine 5.7L or bigger
Gas
14+ ft behind driver seat
6+ ft headspace
Not a dually
6 windows

Also, functional heating and a/c is needed. If the bus doesn't come with it, it will be on the to-do list.

How does this sound to you guys? Is this all too specific? Thoughts/comments/suggestions?
Kandall is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2017, 11:01 PM   #2
Bus Geek

Year: 1997
Coachwork: Bluebird
Chassis: TC 1000
Engine: 5.9
Send a message via Yahoo to Robin97396
First, welcome. You've made a wise decision to get a bus. Of course most of us here would say that because of our own addiction to buses.

I understand your choices, but I don't think you're planning for enough space for two. Also most of us are strongly in favor of the diesels because of the reliability and generally lower operating costs. Then again, as the saying goes "It all depends on what you're going to use it for."

Concerning heat/air conditioning, the current popular choice is mini-split systems that can both heat and cool with lower energy impacts.

Most of the buses are automatic. It would be harder to find you a stick shift.

Concerning the rust issue, that largely depends on where you decide to purchase your bus from.

People here will try to refer you to listed buses that fit or nearly fit your needs and budget.