Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 03-25-2015, 11:20 AM   #1
Mini-Skoolie

Painting

Hey everyone I'm brand new to the skoolie network and have recently bought a 1999 Thomas short bus to convert. I have gutted all the seats at this point and ready to do the interior paint.

My question is the prepping. Do I need to rough up the interior metal that is already painted white and prime it or can I just go over the paint. I am planning on rolling the paint on the inside but spraying the outside when I get there. Any suggestions on this? I could spray the inside if necessary.

When I get to the exterior paint do I need to sand the whole bus down before I paint over the yellow?

I have read many mixed reviews online of some people sanding and some people not sanding both seem to work but I want to do what will look best.

Any suggestions on the paint I use for both interior and exterior? After reading it seems that the rustoleum paint from home depot is the best.

Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks

Zack
Attached Thumbnails
bus2.jpg   bus1.jpg   bus3.JPG  

ztrow151 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2015, 11:55 AM   #2
Bus Geek

Year: 1999
Coachwork: Thomas
Chassis: Freighliner FS65
Engine: Cat 3126
Rated Cap: 15
Welcome.
Yes, I'd sand the body down for paint adhesion. If you don't you'll likely have that typical look- the flaking off paint revealing the yellow underneath. Sign of a hasty conversion in my opinion.
I'd roll the whole thing with Rustoleum. Good stuff at $25 a gallon.
What are your plans for the floor?
EastCoastCB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2015, 12:00 PM   #3
Mini-Skoolie

In my experience sanding has always been a good idea when painting anything. On the other hand sanding the whole bus, even a short one, is a major chore.