Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 02-24-2018, 10:49 PM   #1
Mini-Skoolie

Year: 1997
Chassis: E-450 Collins
Engine: 7.3l Diesel
Recommendations for buying...?

Hey all!

I am a recent addition to the community and looking for a short bus to convert to a full-time home space (please let me know if this is the wrong place for this kind of post, I am new to the whole forum thing as well). I have been doing research to figure out exactly what I am looking for and searching pretty intensely (read: obsessively) for the right bus for the past few months. However, I am getting a bit discouraged. I was wondering if you, the knowledgable masses of the skoolie community, had any sage wisdom for a youngin' like myself (lots of energy, fairly reasonable resources, burgeoning knowledge base, little experience).

I have been mostly looking for 7.3L E-450 short busses; it seems like these engines go forever and are relatively fuel efficient and the diesel minimizes maintenance. However, it seems like the E-350's (most have a 6.0L engines?) are also good choices although I don't know how big the power or reliability differences would be practically.

Unless I'm mistaken, most E-450's also have a 14,050 GVWR which would be handy for carrying the weight of a conversion (water system, roof deck, etc...?)

I have been looking more at bus bodies rather than shuttle style bodies although I am not sure really the practical differences between these (fiberglass vs. metal? weight capacity? style? ceiling height?).