Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 09-01-2016, 11:41 AM   #1

Short Bus Air Brakes?

Hello everyone. My name is Mel and I really love this community. I'm a complete noob and have been trying to read as much as possible and I have a question. I've read air brakes are preferred over hydraulic. We are looking into converting a short bus with 4-5 windows which as I understand will be between 10-12.5 feet long so looking for 7 liter vs 6 liter engine. I have been researching and it seems to me that all the short buses have hydraulic brakes. Is there a reason for this?

mnvillela is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2016, 12:15 PM   #2
Skoolie

Quote:
Originally Posted by mnvillela View Post
Hello everyone. My name is Mel and I really love this community. I'm a complete noob and have been trying to read as much as possible and I have a question. I've read air brakes are preferred over hydraulic. We are looking into converting a short bus with 4-5 windows which as I understand will be between 10-12.5 feet long so looking for 7 liter vs 6 liter engine. I have been researching and it seems to me that all the short buses have hydraulic brakes. Is there a reason for this?
Hi mnvillela, And welcome. I am new here too and not sure about air vs hydraulic. But I always had hydraulic and seem to work great. There are a lot of smart people on here who I am sure will answer your question , good luck to you.
International is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2016, 12:51 PM   #3
Bus Crazy

Year: 1988
Coachwork: Crown / Pusher
Engine: 8.3 Cummins
Quote:
Originally Posted by International View Post
Hi mnvillela, And welcome. I am new here too and not sure about air vs hydraulic. But I always had hydraulic and seem to work great. There are a lot of smart people on here who I am sure will answer your question , good luck to you.