Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-14-2018, 07:51 AM   #361
Bus Crazy
 
brokedown's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: St Petersburg, FL
Posts: 1,247
Year: 1997
Coachwork: Bluebird
Chassis: TC2000 FE
Engine: Cummins 5.9
Rated Cap: 72
We thought you guys weren't coming so we did not bring any blue seats with us... As much rain as we have been seeing they would not have survived the trip anyway!

Sent from my Nexus 6P using Tapatalk
__________________
Keep up with us and our build!
Follow us on Facebook, Instagram, and Twitter
brokedown is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2018, 08:55 AM   #362
Bus Geek
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Columbus Ohio
Posts: 8,974
Year: 1991
Coachwork: Carpenter
Chassis: International S3800
Engine: DT360
Rated Cap: 7 Row Handicap
I’ll be coming by during the day saturday for sure ..my work is insane but I can always go hide in the bus if I need to for a bit
cadillackid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2018, 09:00 AM   #363
Bus Crazy
 
brokedown's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: St Petersburg, FL
Posts: 1,247
Year: 1997
Coachwork: Bluebird
Chassis: TC2000 FE
Engine: Cummins 5.9
Rated Cap: 72
I'd like if you could unlock my cruise control while you're there. I don't even want to use it, I just don't like that I can't! I don't think there are really any other toggles...
__________________
Keep up with us and our build!
Follow us on Facebook, Instagram, and Twitter
brokedown is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2018, 09:11 AM   #364
Bus Crazy
 
brokedown's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: St Petersburg, FL
Posts: 1,247
Year: 1997
Coachwork: Bluebird
Chassis: TC2000 FE
Engine: Cummins 5.9
Rated Cap: 72
So at the SKoolie Swamp, Christopher enabled my cruise control. Not because I planned to use it, but because I don't like disabled features.

Now I like it. And my new bus doesn't have it! CadillacKid ruined my life. Next step: Building a cruise control for a cummins 5.9 with an arduino.

No real updates lately though, we've been working on our boat to get it on craigslist. Selling boats is a slow process it seems, so we'll be leaving a set of keys behind for the owner of the slip we're in to show it to any tire kickers that may come through.
__________________
Keep up with us and our build!
Follow us on Facebook, Instagram, and Twitter
brokedown is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2018, 09:18 AM   #365
Bus Geek
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Columbus Ohio
Posts: 8,974
Year: 1991
Coachwork: Carpenter
Chassis: International S3800
Engine: DT360
Rated Cap: 7 Row Handicap
ha! too funny.. I remember you saying.. "I'll Never use it!..." sounds like ECCB - "I'll never want A/C".. then he goes and specifically bought his latest shortie because it was A/C and DT466...

is your 5.9 a fly-by-wire or is it a mechanical linkage to the Pump? the big thing when I used a Zbasic.net chip to mess with electronic cruise was watching rate of accel and decel when determining how aggressive to be on the throttle... I created a "factor" that was a multiplier in how much I applied the throttle to kind of anticipate what was going to happen... the navistar cruise with an AT545 has this buffer built in as the throttle pedal just creates an RPM desire.. effectively a cruise on its own... makes it easy esp with an AT545.. it will be cool to see what you do with your 5.9, i trhink you are AT545 on that? or are you lock up on the MonsterMasher?
-Christopher
cadillackid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2018, 09:41 AM   #366
Bus Crazy
 
brokedown's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: St Petersburg, FL
Posts: 1,247
Year: 1997
Coachwork: Bluebird
Chassis: TC2000 FE
Engine: Cummins 5.9
Rated Cap: 72
My 5.9 has a fully mechanical linkage.. A cable to a lever with a spring behind it. So whatever I would do needs to be strong enough to pull the spring, and I've got way too strong of a spring in there right now!

Sounds like you were on your way to a PID controller setup. https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/PID_controller
__________________
Keep up with us and our build!
Follow us on Facebook, Instagram, and Twitter
brokedown is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2018, 11:05 AM   #367
Bus Crazy
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Location: Owasso, OK
Posts: 2,305
Year: 1999
Coachwork: Thomas
Chassis: Saf-T-Liner MVP ER
Engine: Cummins 6CTA8.3 Mechanical MD3060
Rated Cap: 46 Coach Seats, 40 foot
Quote:
Originally Posted by brokedown View Post
My 5.9 has a fully mechanical linkage.. A cable to a lever with a spring behind it. So whatever I would do needs to be strong enough to pull the spring, and I've got way too strong of a spring in there right now!

Sounds like you were on your way to a PID controller setup. https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/PID_controller
Spring for a Rostra, universal kit.
__________________
Steve Bracken

Build Thread
Twigg is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2018, 02:11 PM   #368
Bus Geek
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Columbus Ohio
Posts: 8,974
Year: 1991
Coachwork: Carpenter
Chassis: International S3800
Engine: DT360
Rated Cap: 7 Row Handicap
+1 on the rostra.. the cost of the servo alone is going to make the controller not so much extra... you can probably parallel the speed sensor for your dash.. im guessing that it uses an electronic sensor and not a speedo cable. .. most times its easy to get a speedo signal without hurting the original.

yeah I had pretty much a PID loop setup going with some elements of trying to predict what the future would be.
-Christopher

-Christopher
cadillackid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2018, 11:14 PM   #369
Mini-Skoolie
 
mikerob643's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Location: Flagstaff AZ
Posts: 56
Year: 1996
Coachwork: Thomas
Chassis: Vista 36pp
Engine: 7.3 L diesel
Hi brokedown, I recently purchased this exact same bus. I'm almost through replacing all fluids in it and doing various mechanicle stuff so next on the list was gutting the inside. I have most of my flooring up and some of the walls off. I noticed though that the bottom 1.5 ish feet of the inside walls are solid metal that feels more like part of the bodies frame than sheet metal siding. did you run into this on your bus?
They stuffed a bunch of the fiberglass insulation down into this cavity ( it still looks good...) and im trying to get it out so we can add our own insulation. Hopefully spray foam!
mikerob643 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2018, 07:59 AM   #370
Bus Crazy
 
brokedown's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: St Petersburg, FL
Posts: 1,247
Year: 1997
Coachwork: Bluebird
Chassis: TC2000 FE
Engine: Cummins 5.9
Rated Cap: 72
That lower wall is the same on every bus I've seen. It's structural. I embraced it and ran eye bolts through the seal bolt holes to use as attachment points to hold things in place. My new bus build I'll be using the chai rail platform to mount my bed. Drop some insulation in it and cover the outside as best as you can!
__________________
Keep up with us and our build!
Follow us on Facebook, Instagram, and Twitter
brokedown is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:39 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.