Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 04-03-2017, 02:48 PM   #1

Question The Purchase: How do I make sure I don't screw myself over?

Hey there team.

I'm new to the skoolie world. First of all, there are so many awesome looking builds out there. I've been intensely reading forums and articles and scouring auction sites (ebay, craiglist, bookoo, govdeals, etc) looking for something to build for myself.

However, I need help with one thing; how do I make sure I don't get screwed over when I take the bus purchase leap for a conversion project? Do I get a mechanic to take a look? Do I only buy from certain sites or a bus "dealer"? Are there certain bus makes/models/engines that I should stay away from?

I'll outline my goals for the conversion project to give everyone an idea of where I'm going.

1) Space for a single individual + cat. One bed, a couch with some under-cushion storage, maybe fold-able desk space and chair, a little sink and stove set-up, and possibly even a small bathroom.

2) I think I can make this work with a shorter school bus along the lines of a Ford E350.

3) Currently military (getting out in about 3 months) in Ft. Polk, Louisiana. I'm willing to go a state or two over in any direction for the right find, but don't want to waste unnecessary time and resources (b/c that's more money that could be put into the build.)

Obviously I know the simple things like don't buy a rust-bucket and make sure it drives, but how do I go about making sure I am purchasing a mechanically sound foundation for a new "home"?

Thanks in advance for your help, skoolie vets.

aNewCommission is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2017, 04:33 PM   #2
Bus Geek

Year: 1999
Coachwork: Thomas
Chassis: Freighliner FS65
Engine: Cat 3126
Rated Cap: 15