Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-29-2017, 12:21 PM   #291
Bus Crazy
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: SW New Hampshire
Posts: 1,152
Quote:
Originally Posted by cadillackid View Post
<snip>

I realize this gets much deeper than most go... but you have to understand this *IS* a big part of the fun for me... while others find fun in building out really nice woodwork.. or super cool furniture they build into their busses... its *THIS* that gets me pumped up...
Dude, you are the Cowlitz of electrons around here! I look forward to meeting you in person someday, and will continue to learn from you.

Eventually we'll get this stuff sufficiently reverse-engineered to produce an open source TCM. After all, "if you can't open it, you don't own it", right?
dan-fox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2017, 09:42 AM   #292
Bus Nut
 
Tootalltechie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Location: Prince George, BC, Canada
Posts: 513
Year: 1974
Coachwork: Bluebird
Chassis: CHEVROLET C60 just under 19700 lbs body#B10353
Engine: 350 ci on propane
Rated Cap: 48
With the use of J1939 network protocol are you planning to integrate any other control units?

Sent from my SM-G530W using Tapatalk
Tootalltechie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2017, 08:13 AM   #293
Bus Geek
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Columbus Ohio
Posts: 9,553
Year: 1991
Coachwork: Carpenter
Chassis: International S3800
Engine: DT360
Rated Cap: 7 Row Handicap
sorry ive been "off-grid" for a couple.. I just finished driving 1700 miles in the bus.. and wow a lot less fuel stops and I could actually climb hills without overheating and maintained a decent speed the whole time. even with the A/C on and a bit of a headwind i was able to maintain 60-65 on most grades.. and only real slowdown was a 1000 foot climb that took me down to near 50.. but the semis were doing 25 and regular pickups with trailers maybe 55. so i didnt feel so bad.. we all chugged it...

J1939.. theres not much else in my bus to use it for other than the transmission. I drove this trip with my original TCM / TPS. .. before the trip I had played with doing my own transmission tune. and realized I have a lot to learn about full tuning.. so I ran on the tried and true that CAC built..

I found out they mis-programmed my throttle box when they built it.. as its never seeing any more than 80% throttle. hence why my upshifts seem early.. and downshifts late... it is off by 20%.. my actuall throttle is .75 to 3.75 volts.. it appears they are looking at 0 - 5 or 5.25 voilts.. of course its proprietary and settings cant be changed... REALLY? that drives me bonkers.. who builds a box that you cant alter a parameter without sending it back and having it re-programmed.. FAIL! in my book...

alas the bus runs fantastic! I did see a temp of 210 briefly once.. but my oil temp was still 203.. and quickly I was right back down to 205 and under.. I pushed a hill hard in 95 degree heat..
-Christopher
cadillackid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2017, 08:39 AM   #294
Bus Geek
 
Brewerbob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Location: Essex, MD
Posts: 2,834
Year: 1999
Chassis: Blue Bird TC RE 3904, Flat Nose, 40', 277" wh base
Engine: 8.3L Cummins ISC 260hp, AT643, 4.44 rear
Rated Cap: 84 pax or 1 RV; 33,000lbs
Quote:
Originally Posted by cadillackid View Post
of course its proprietary and settings cant be changed... REALLY? that drives me bonkers.. who builds a box that you cant alter a parameter without sending it back and having it re-programmed.. FAIL! in my book...
-Christopher
Um, ... you do know what the word means, yes? Just about EVERYONE does that. If I can alter your code, what do I need you for? You should get a job in the DoD world some day.
Brewerbob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2017, 08:49 AM   #295
Bus Geek
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Columbus Ohio
Posts: 9,553
Year: 1991
Coachwork: Carpenter
Chassis: International S3800
Engine: DT360
Rated Cap: 7 Row Handicap
no no. its not altering the code.. its altering a setting... ie that my throttle outputs 4 volts max instead of 5 volts... thats not altering code... thats a setting
-Christopher
cadillackid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2017, 09:11 AM   #296
Bus Geek
 
Brewerbob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Location: Essex, MD
Posts: 2,834
Year: 1999
Chassis: Blue Bird TC RE 3904, Flat Nose, 40', 277" wh base
Engine: 8.3L Cummins ISC 260hp, AT643, 4.44 rear
Rated Cap: 84 pax or 1 RV; 33,000lbs
Quote:
Originally Posted by cadillackid View Post
no no. its not altering the code.. its altering a setting... ie that my throttle outputs 4 volts max instead of 5 volts... thats not altering code... thats a setting
-Christopher
Easier for me to code it at 5v without a variable.
Brewerbob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2017, 12:38 PM   #297
Bus Geek
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Columbus Ohio
Posts: 9,553
Year: 1991
Coachwork: Carpenter
Chassis: International S3800
Engine: DT360
Rated Cap: 7 Row Handicap
of course it is!! but what customer service level do you have when a customer has to take his vehiclke down, ship the box to the company, they reprogram it.. and ship it back... presumably im shipping it to them on my dime as they havent said otherwise
-Christopher
cadillackid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2017, 01:29 PM   #298
Bus Geek
 
Brewerbob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Location: Essex, MD
Posts: 2,834
Year: 1999
Chassis: Blue Bird TC RE 3904, Flat Nose, 40', 277" wh base
Engine: 8.3L Cummins ISC 260hp, AT643, 4.44 rear
Rated Cap: 84 pax or 1 RV; 33,000lbs
How often are they going to have someone making a homemade bus? I bet you're the first one that even asked them what the value was.
Brewerbob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2017, 01:36 PM   #299
Bus Geek
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Columbus Ohio
Posts: 9,553
Year: 1991
Coachwork: Carpenter
Chassis: International S3800
Engine: DT360
Rated Cap: 7 Row Handicap
well ANY who have an existing electronic throttle have to provide them voltages.. I took a voltage at every 10% of my throttle. and sent it off to them.. they asked for min and max.. and electronic throttles are common on many engines.. they specialize in cummins conversions.. even newer stuff.. every throttle has nuances.. theres alot of cummins diesel trucks out there with 5'9;s in them that have electronic throttle... they have even done CAT stuff...

for what they charge for that box, a simple adjuster POT on the side would make sense.. chances are anyone who is noticing throttle issues has access to the scan tool to see that fact and can dial it in..

in my opinion id make the adjuster pot. change the value in the device and then you put a rubber plug over it.. 90% of the people wont toucb it.. we are dealing with a couple bucks on a lkow volume box that costs hundreds.. we arent talking about a geberal motors that sells 500,000 devices in a year where that $2 makes a huge difference...
-Christopher
cadillackid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2017, 07:40 PM   #300
Bus Nut
 
Tootalltechie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Location: Prince George, BC, Canada
Posts: 513
Year: 1974
Coachwork: Bluebird
Chassis: CHEVROLET C60 just under 19700 lbs body#B10353
Engine: 350 ci on propane
Rated Cap: 48
Totally agree Christopher. A .50 cent voltage divider pot would be so easy to add on the input circuit. Hey maybe there is one in their proprietary product. Charge 150.00 hr for 5 min adjustment. Go figure. Bet their units are not as custom as they want you to think. Any chance of warranty swap out and return? Or will you make an environment safe adjustment circuit?

Sent from my SM-G530W using Tapatalk
Tootalltechie is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:22 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.