Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-31-2017, 11:19 PM   #301
Bus Geek
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Columbus Ohio
Posts: 8,553
Year: 1991
Coachwork: Carpenter
Chassis: International S3800
Engine: DT360
Rated Cap: 7 Row Handicap
They won't charge me to make the change , I just have to get the box to them.
The pot could be an internal product. Meaning that it would be used in the software to adjust the max throttle voltage up or down. I'd leave the facing. Circuit alone. The user connects a scan tool and floors his pedal. Adjust the pot till the scan tool reads100%. Now you have your scale, and unlike a divider it works across all ranges of throttle now. I suppose be real fancy and have 2, one for minimum as well.
All the TPS I've seen are linear, the pedal is basically a pot.. I guess caterpillar used a throttle box that output PWM to the ECM.

The only box I may build would be a 1708 to analog throttle out for those times I'm running cruise. Sure I can tap up and down and it easy.. but I do have an automatic and not a stick for a reason.
Christopher
cadillackid is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2017, 07:21 AM   #302
Bus Crazy
 
Brewerbob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Location: Essex, MD
Posts: 2,464
Year: 1999
Chassis: Blue Bird TC RE 3904, Flat Nose, 40', 277" wh base
Engine: 8.3L Cummins ISC 260hp, AT643, 4.44 rear
Rated Cap: 84 pax or 1 RV; 33,000lbs
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tootalltechie View Post
Totally agree Christopher. A .50 cent voltage divider pot would be so easy to add on the input circuit. Hey maybe there is one in their proprietary product. Charge 150.00 hr for 5 min adjustment. Go figure. Bet their units are not as custom as they want you to think. Any chance of warranty swap out and return? Or will you make an environment safe adjustment circuit?
Guys, don't get me wrong. I totally 150% agree with Chris but that isn't how it works. In the DoD world, there are all kinds of "enhancements" that are purposely left out of the designs. Those are next year's profits. Occasionally they stumble on them during the design phase but more often than not, they know about it ahead of time and leave them out. Oh a blue screen would be nicer on the eyes? Yeah we can fix that. A drop down menu? We might can do that for you. Cancel button on the other side of the Save button... sure. That'll be $234,504 for the Level Of Effort.

And not one of those would be hardware. Hardware is more Fit, Form, and Function. We have to change drawings, test the design, source the parts, test forward/backwards compatibility, etc. There's no such thing as a $5,000 hammer. It's all the paperwork that goes with the hammer that makes it $5,000. You guys just be sure you have your taxes paid up by April 15th.
Brewerbob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2017, 07:27 AM   #303
Bus Crazy
 
Brewerbob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Location: Essex, MD
Posts: 2,464
Year: 1999
Chassis: Blue Bird TC RE 3904, Flat Nose, 40', 277" wh base
Engine: 8.3L Cummins ISC 260hp, AT643, 4.44 rear
Rated Cap: 84 pax or 1 RV; 33,000lbs
Quote:
Originally Posted by cadillackid View Post
Sure I can tap up and down and it easy.. but I do have an automatic and not a stick for a reason.
Christopher
Because lazy!! Wish my bus was a stick.
Brewerbob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2017, 07:45 AM   #304
Bus Nut
 
joeblack5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: pa
Posts: 669
Year: 98
Coachwork: 1. Corbeil & 2. Thomas
Chassis: 1 ford e350 2 mercedes
Engine: 7.3 powerstroke & MBE906
You could go analog and make a circuit to adapt the voltage before it reached the A/D converters in the box. Or if you can open the box I would assume that there is a buffer circuit to protect the whatever processor is in there from voltage spike and to adjust the input voltages to the range the A/D converter wants to see.
That is better anyhow o you use the full span of the A/d converter.

Later J
joeblack5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2017, 07:48 AM   #305
Bus Geek
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Eustis FLORIDA
Posts: 13,264
Year: 2004
Coachwork: IC
Chassis: CE300
Engine: DT466E
Rated Cap: 32
My Subaru's "fly by wire" throttle won't ever go more than 80%. Is that a motor vehicle industry thing?
Have I told you folks lately how horrible Subaru is? lol
EastCoastCB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2017, 08:01 AM   #306
Bus Nut
 
joeblack5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: pa
Posts: 669
Year: 98
Coachwork: 1. Corbeil & 2. Thomas
Chassis: 1 ford e350 2 mercedes
Engine: 7.3 powerstroke & MBE906
May be it is a safety thing. I have seen A/D converters do strange things when they go over the span / range. But that was in the old days. Some 0-255 range converter jump back to 1 if you go over the range on the analog side.
joeblack5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2017, 10:26 AM   #307
Bus Geek
 
Tango's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Houston, Texas
Posts: 6,648
Year: 1946
Coachwork: Chevrolet/Wayne
Chassis: 1- 1/2 ton
Engine: Cummins 4BT
Rated Cap: 15
This discussion simply reinforces my decision to go all mechanical wherever possible. No fly-by-wire. This old boy still prefers stick-and-rudder.
Tango is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2017, 11:26 AM   #308
Bus Geek
 
Tango's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Houston, Texas
Posts: 6,648
Year: 1946
Coachwork: Chevrolet/Wayne
Chassis: 1- 1/2 ton
Engine: Cummins 4BT
Rated Cap: 15
Hey Christopher --- quick question...does your new transmission rig have a driveline parking brake on the back of the Allison? I'm having fits finding the right cable bracket. Without a VIN, parts people are lost these days.
Tango is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2017, 02:23 PM   #309
Bus Geek
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Columbus Ohio
Posts: 8,553
Year: 1991
Coachwork: Carpenter
Chassis: International S3800
Engine: DT360
Rated Cap: 7 Row Handicap
it does ands i had to make the bracket.. I had tried to find one for a GMC 6500 / 7500 truck from say 2008 or so.. but all were discontinued.. so i ended up modding the original bracket from the 545 as it would totallty fit my 1000 (I cant remember what page on this thread i did that on).. I ordered like 3 different ones and got the kiss of death on all.. I know IC bus made a BE series in like 04-07 (maybe longer) that had hydraulic brakes and a 1000 transmission.. that might be a route to go if we can find someone who doesnt require a VIN
-Christopher
cadillackid is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2017, 09:51 PM   #310
Bus Geek
 
Tango's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Houston, Texas
Posts: 6,648
Year: 1946
Coachwork: Chevrolet/Wayne
Chassis: 1- 1/2 ton
Engine: Cummins 4BT
Rated Cap: 15
Roger the Fab It. I spent hours at the local International Truck shop with no luck. The girl (who was an awesome service person) tried her best and found one that looked right on her computer but what they sent was totally wrong. Just wish I had SOMEthing to base a plan on. Do you have a pic of yours by any chance?

And does yours mount to the top or bottom of the trans? I have seen both, but my brake lever is on bottom.
Tango is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:34 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.