Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 11-16-2016, 11:20 AM   #1
Bus Geek

Adding vapor service to forklift tanks

Bit of a propane noob here, figuring stuff out googling best I can, but the vendors' CS reps aren't forthcoming with answers to end-users with unusual use cases.

​I will be having our propane dealer (currently Tractor Supply) do all the fitting and installation, have them train us on the (yes I know critical) safety procedures etc, but I really want to know what I'm doing, have the list of fittings ready before I approach the certified techs, or they're likely to turn me down for liability red flags.

I want to purchase new 43.5# aluminum tanks designed for fueling forklifts, and repurpose for vapor service by adding a standard 1-1/4″ ACME/FPOL Type 1 QCC valve.

So far it seems Worthington and Manchester are the main vendors, but I can't seem to find out if there is a 6-hole SKU with the view gauge and stock filler valve in place, with a (plugged) hole on a tank available for that added fitting.

That should be in location C in this diagram:
http://www.cruisersforum.com/forums/...9&d=1350083660

If not, I believe I can remove the stock Filler Valve (location B) and replace it with my standard vapor service valve, but that means sacrificing the liquid quick-fill capability, as used by AutoGas stations and propane delivery trucks.

I did find a Rego dual-service valve 8555DL that apparently provides a 1-3/4" ACME liquid fill valve as well as vapor service, but since that is a pretty exotic fitting, would prefer to find a tank with the extra "optional" hole available to use with the standard valves.

Or maybe I can replace the view gauge with a service valve? I don't know the hole thread specs though.

Any advice greatly appreciated, including links to a more appropriate forum with more expert gas techs willing to help an amateur.