Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 05-21-2016, 11:19 AM   #1

Hybrid school bus, is it possible?

Hi, I was just throwing this out there. Of course I'm going to convert my bus first. But. Is it possible to replace and rewire the engine to make the bus a hybrid, and if so how. If you can id like a ballpark on how much it'd cost. I'm really new at this and want to make my bus eco friendly because I feel bad driving a Diesel engine. So if you could help me out with that I'd appreciate it!

Thank you very much!

MartinEm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2016, 01:34 PM   #2
Mini-Skoolie

Anything is possible with enough money. I've never done this kind of conversion but I'm betting it's very expensive.
Why do you feel bad driving a diesel? ? ? They are more efficient for power than a big gas engine. If it's blowing smoke than something is wrong with it? I have a 1968 2 stroke diesel engine in my bus that is built on technology from the 50's, granted it was rebuilt about 10k miles ago, but it doesn't smoke at all! These trucks you see with "got smoke? " stickers and bellowing black smoke have an engine that is NOT set up correctly and shouldn't be blowing smoke!
I'm all for taking care of our environment but at what cost? ? How far ahead are states like California that is forcing people to destroy working vehicles just because they put out like 10% more emissions than newer cars just to fill up the land fills?
Example ; say you convert yours to a hybrid.... What are you going to do with the old parts? What about the power and resources to make the new parts you need and the hazardous battery bank? Batteries last less when used in such high demand do they need to be replaced more often, more waste. Then you have the resources such as electricity, welding materials, waste products and etc for doing the conversion.