Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-01-2016, 07:06 PM   #1
Mini-Skoolie
 
Join Date: May 2016
Posts: 13
No brake lights or running lights

I have a carpenter body bus with a 3800 I yet atonal body. I have no brake lights and no running lights in the back. Has anyone else come across this problem and a solution?
Jhughes08 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2016, 07:13 PM   #2
Mini-Skoolie
 
Join Date: May 2016
Posts: 13
I have running lights on the sides and front
Jhughes08 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2016, 07:19 PM   #3
Bus Nut
 
2kool4skool's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: Spring Valley AZ
Posts: 777
Year: 2000
Coachwork: Bluebird
Engine: 5.9 Cummins
Rated Cap: 2 elderly children, 1 cat
I lost mine and it was a multi-pin plug in the elec. door by the driver, came unplugged.
__________________
Don and Mary
2kool4skool is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2016, 07:33 PM   #4
Mini-Skoolie
 
Join Date: May 2016
Posts: 13
Ok. Do the front and back lights come out separately
Jhughes08 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2016, 07:34 PM   #5
Bus Geek
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Columbus Ohio
Posts: 7,949
Year: 1991
Coachwork: Carpenter
Chassis: International S3800
Engine: DT360
Rated Cap: 7 Row Handicap
the Body to chassis connector is notorious for coming loose.. im assuming you have lights in the front? if not, then check the fuses up front on the dash just to the left of the glove box cubby...

one of the body to chassis connectors is behind the kick panel on the left in front of the driver heater console...

-Christopher
cadillackid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2016, 10:08 PM   #6
Mini-Skoolie
 
Join Date: May 2016
Posts: 13
I just ended up jumping from the running light wire for te over head clearance in the back and ran them down to the back lights. The brakes ended up being the switch. That being said why are there two brake light switches?
Jhughes08 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2016, 10:52 PM   #7
Bus Geek
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Columbus Ohio
Posts: 7,949
Year: 1991
Coachwork: Carpenter
Chassis: International S3800
Engine: DT360
Rated Cap: 7 Row Handicap
I just looked that up in the wiring diagrams and it literally shows that both switches are in parallel.. basically they assume one or the other will trip... at least electrically thats how its set up... id have to look at the air valve to see if theres any reason mechanically...

on hydraulic brakes theres only one switch..

-Christopher
cadillackid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2016, 11:26 PM   #8
Mini-Skoolie
 
Join Date: May 2016
Posts: 13
Mine has hydrolic brakes and two switches. I'll replace the lower one, the pin isn't coming out anymore and see if that works
Jhughes08 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2016, 11:11 AM   #9
New Member
 
Sk8r_Cowgirl's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Idaho
Posts: 5
Year: 2001
Coachwork: International
Engine: DT466
Check fuses and bulbs before you get too far chasing harnesses. I had a bus that had blew a fuse because of a shorted filiment in a bulb. Seriously.
__________________
And it begins...
Sk8r_Cowgirl is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:17 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.