Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 10-26-2016, 07:56 PM   #1
Bus Nut

Question Propane powered & propane appliances

I have a few questions regarding propane.
My bus is powered by "liquid" propane but appliances are powered by "vapor" propane.
I'm wanting to have a propane cook top, refrigerator, heater.
How can both be done on a skoolie?
Can it be done with 1 tank?
Thanks for any information
Gordon

Tootalltechie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2016, 08:41 AM   #2
Bus Crazy

Year: 1997
Coachwork: Thomas
Chassis: B3800 Short bus
Engine: T444E
Rated Cap: 36
If your tank doesn't already have a vapour and a liquid valve (double check, some tanks have both) there are still options.

The easiest might be to purchase and install a vaporizer regulator. I like the looks of the Impco AHR-50D, but I'm no pro on these things.

Here's a PDF of Impco vaporizer regulators: http://www.impcotechnologies.com/pdf...Regulators.pdf

There are also some dual valves out there. Here's one:

Dual Cylinder Valve for Simultaneous Liquid and Vapor Withdrawal 8556

These will be dependant on tank position I would think.

It's definitely worth stopping by an industrial propane place and having a chat. Some place that works on forklifts... Unplanned propane explosions are no fun.
Old 10-27-2016, 09:04 AM   #3
Bus Crazy

This has all got me thinking.. I now want a liquid draw propane tank!

I've been using typical 20lbers mounted under the bus. In the winter the vapour flow from the tanks noticeably decreases. A liquid-draw tank with an indoor regulator vaporizer would eliminate this problem. Interesting...
Old 10-27-2016, 03:25 PM   #4
Bus Nut

Year: 2005
Chassis: Freightliner
Engine: Detroit MBE906
Rated Cap: 72
That's an interesting thought for those of us who will need propane while living in colder areas... not sure how safe it would be though.