Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-26-2016, 12:21 PM   #21
Bus Crazy
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Salt Lake City Utah
Posts: 1,287
Year: 2000
Chassis: Blue Bird
Engine: ISC 8.3
I did an idiot thing once. Well, that has happened more than once, but there's one occasion in particular which I'll share now. I wanted to test a portable generator powering the house. I've done this before without incident, but having traded out that former generator for a smaller unit, wanted to test again. We had moved to a different house, too. Anyway I wired the 240 volt hookup with a 3-wire cord because I was backfeeding through the electric range socket which had 3 conductors. The generator of course had the 4-wire L15-30 connector... unfortunately I connected the house ground, which I knew would be bonded to the house neutral back at the main panel, to ground on the generator's L15-30 rather than neutral. This generator doesn't have a built-in bond. It only took a few seconds to figure out that because the neutral was disconnected, some parts of the house were experiencing well over 120 volts while other parts were well under. Fortunately the "double check the neutral and ground!" lesson tuition only cost me one fluorescent ballast, a handful of CFL lamps, two surge suppressors, a wall-wart transformer, and the ice maker in the freezer. It could have been much worse.
family wagon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2016, 12:56 PM   #22
Bus Nut
 
skoolie_n00bie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 447
Year: 1988
Coachwork: Ward
Chassis: International
Engine: Navistar 5.9 Diesel
Rated Cap: A butt-load...
Talking

This is what i'll be using.
Very high-tech...I think McCoy left it behind....
__________________
n00b build > http://www.skoolie.net/forums/f27/th...ily-10122.html
Not my fault if anything I post results in someone losing a finger...
Errare humanum est, perseverare diabolicum
skoolie_n00bie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2016, 04:15 PM   #23
Skoolie
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Miami
Posts: 167
Year: 1998
Coachwork: Thomas
Chassis: MVP
Engine: CAT 3116
Rated Cap: 84
Ok, so just to clarify this in my mind, when I install my PD4560 50 Amp all in one center, I'm going to run a green wire from the grounding block to the frame/chassis of the bus, like in the diagram below (I added the green):



Does this look right?

Thanks!
Piersg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2016, 05:11 PM   #24
Bus Nut
 
Jolly Roger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: North carolina
Posts: 651
Year: 1986
Coachwork: Thomas
Chassis: Ford
Engine: Detroit 8.2
Rated Cap: 60 bodies
Quote:
Originally Posted by ol trunt View Post
The no shock zone should be mandatory reading for all us bus nuts!!!!!!

If you are using a portable generator like Honda or Yamaha you will need to change their floating grounds so that they ground back to themselves. Many portable generators have a ground lug on the control panel that the mfg suggests you wire to a grounding rod---how likely is that going to be? You can find a listing of generators with floating grounds and how to make their grounds go back to the generator rather than a ground rod. With a floating generator ground, it is possible for the "skin" of the bus to become hot (electrified). Under those conditions, should you happen to step out of your bus onto wet ground while you are still, say, hanging onto the step rail, you get to be the ground----a shocking (and potentially deadly) experience. Jack
I was trying to play catch up and read all the post before I commented but TRUNT and I still have not read the no shock zone.
For government construction we are required to use a grounding rod for any portable generator,welding machine and most BS it buy driving a piece of steel whatever in the dirt to look like something and hook jumper cables from rod to equipment frame.
All generators are vibration isolated but have steel bolts through the isolators to the frame but have a ground to frame but as stated it could be unreliable.
For me a ground rod driven into the ground at least 18" and a good sized ground wire connected to the generator ground lug not the frame lug and clamped to the rod is true protection.
With all of that said and everything we do to these busses? Has anyone ever thought about grounding the bus body and a rod on the roof for lightning protection? Because even though the frame is isolated with tires the body is isolated from the frame to an extent?
Laugh if you want to.
Government/base high rise construction they come up with all kinds of electrical safety issues among other things?
I am usually a water man but my company involved me in electrical solar panels on a 5-story metal roof and I had to add seperate lightning protection because lightning looks for a path to ground and all the power from these panels are grounded. And because I was the installer of 70+ panel solar water system I had to install lighting protection on them as well? (Not the owner of the company just the ramrod installer) sucked either way. Water piping does create a path to ground and We did use copper for the glycol/water system so had to ground the piping on the roof and on the first floor at the equipment? Probably over kill but it has put food for thought in my head as far as grounding in/on my all metal structure bus? And what to ground where? Lightning if grounded to the body could blow everything you have including you,unless it is provided a direct path to ground? Ain't scared of it but I swear growing. Up as a kid in texas my DAD was a lightning rod never hit directly but close enough to cause temp. Blindness and 1 time it was because he came to close my bedroom winder after I ignored mom telling me to. I jumped and said ok I got it dad and as soon as he touched the winder the lightning was close enough it temp.blinded both of us? My first but his third?
Jolly Roger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2016, 06:00 PM   #25
Bus Crazy
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Salt Lake City Utah
Posts: 1,287
Year: 2000
Chassis: Blue Bird
Engine: ISC 8.3
Piersg: yes that looks good.
family wagon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2016, 09:17 PM   #26
Bus Crazy
 
ol trunt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: So Cal
Posts: 1,926
Year: 1935
Coachwork: Superior
Chassis: Chevy
Engine: 317 ci/tid / Isuzu
FYI Trunt has read and understands the "No shock zone" So what's the prob?
ol trunt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2016, 03:24 PM   #27
Skoolie
 
jester's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: onboard the R1!
Posts: 206
Year: 2004
Coachwork: International
Chassis: RE200
Engine: 7.3L Navistar T444E
Rated Cap: 72
Quote:
Originally Posted by ol trunt View Post
FYI Trunt has read and understands the "No shock zone" So what's the prob?
i can attest to this, he has heard my ideas for fishing worm gathering and concluded it was indeed very dangerous and very mucho in the shock zone.
__________________
check out my build pics
http://www.skoolie.net/forums/member...albums833.html
or my random writings... at
www.roadrunnerlogik.blogspot.com
jester is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2016, 03:59 PM   #28
Bus Nut
 
Jolly Roger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: North carolina
Posts: 651
Year: 1986
Coachwork: Thomas
Chassis: Ford
Engine: Detroit 8.2
Rated Cap: 60 bodies
Quote:
Originally Posted by ol trunt View Post
FYI Trunt has read and understands the "No shock zone" So what's the prob?
Sorry TRUNT/sir i just read my last post and I made it sound like you havent read or dont know? i am sorry. that wasnt my intention?? i started out posting in one direction and didnt start completely over when i changed direction? I meant to say that you had hit on a topic that i had debates in my head about and went on to explain my debates and didnt see that i had thrown you UNDER THE BUS? SORRY. i will make it to the NO SHOCK ZONE this weekend to answer the questions in my head about grounding.
No problems here sir.
Thanks for your time.
Jolly Roger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2016, 04:22 PM   #29
Skoolie
 
jester's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: onboard the R1!
Posts: 206
Year: 2004
Coachwork: International
Chassis: RE200
Engine: 7.3L Navistar T444E
Rated Cap: 72
lol no inside joke or anything, i was tellin trunt the other day on different thread that i had wired a male to male extension cord to test my ac circuits, BAD idea. so i said id use it for a worm gathering aid and stick it in ground for a bit then go get the worms that had run for the hills!!
__________________
check out my build pics
http://www.skoolie.net/forums/member...albums833.html
or my random writings... at
www.roadrunnerlogik.blogspot.com
jester is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2016, 04:33 PM   #30
Bus Nut
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Kent, WA (Seattle)
Posts: 377
Year: 1987
Engine: 6.9L Diesel
Question: how many switches do you guys use on your breakers and how many watts is your electrical system? I know it's need based but I am curious. I have a RV breaker with a few switches that I am thinking about hooking up, but was wondering about this the other day.

My system will be 1000watts with a small generator so I don't know if I need more than a few switches. 1 for the occasional heavy load like the wife's hair dryer, 1 for the kitchen, 1 for the livingroom and bedroom?
TAOLIK is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:30 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.