Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 09-11-2016, 09:12 AM   #1
Mini-Skoolie

1987 Bluebird Bus Brake locked

Hey all,

Total newbie here, just picked up a new to me 62 passenger 87 Bluebird with the 366 motor, from Oklahoma and I'm making my way back to Virginia. I just posed another thread in the GM section about the little bit of carb trouble I'm having but I'm also stuck as last night the drivers side rear brake locked up (disc got red hot when I noticed it, I'm thankful it wasn't worse).

Anyway, it appears to have released but I've got a mechanic hopefully coming to check it out this morning. So my question is, I think I should replace (or rebuild?) that caliper (okay at least that caliper, maybe both if not all four ;) does anyone have a resource on finding these calipers? I apologize for not doing more searching myself by my cell service up here is spotted at best and I'm stuck for the time being...

Thanks!

snorris8236 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2016, 10:16 AM   #2
Bus Nut

Year: 1996
Coachwork: Blue Bird
Chassis: All American Rear Engine
Engine: C-8.3-300 Cummins MD3060
Rated Cap: 40 Prisoners
Try the local NAPA store or look for a Fleet Pride store in your location. You
can also go to trpparts.com. All of these stores have online catalogs you
can look at.
Dragonpop is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2016, 11:03 AM   #3
Bus Crazy

Year: 1991
Coachwork: Bluebird
Chassis: AARE
Engine: 3116 Cat 250hp
Rated Cap: Just the two of us.
Are you sure it has disc brakes in the rear? You say 1987, 62 passenger. I can't imagine anything that old, that big would have disc brakes anywhere.
As to your loss of power, if brake was dragging bad enough to get red, it may have felt like loss of power.
It's not a carb adjustment anyway, likely filter or water in fuel.)
somewhereinusa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2016, 01:49 PM   #4
Bus Crazy

Year: 2001