Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-24-2015, 09:47 PM   #11
New Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Posts: 7
Another thing to point out here.... the stock coolant temp gauge in all 6.5's is 'defective'. The red line for temp should be about 215.... never let it go over 220!

Live by that rule, your 6.5 will live much longer!

I have 2 6.5 suburbans.... love them both... hate them both!!!
mangus580 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2015, 09:56 PM   #12
Skoolie
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Texas
Posts: 107
Quote:
Originally Posted by mangus580 View Post
Another thing to point out here.... the stock coolant temp gauge in all 6.5's is 'defective'. The red line for temp should be about 215.... never let it go over 220!

Live by that rule, your 6.5 will live much longer!

I have 2 6.5 suburbans.... love them both... hate them both!!!
Want to get rid of one?

I agree. Hitting 210 is when you are having a cooling problem that needs to get fixed asap.
Charlies.Contingency is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-25-2015, 01:40 AM   #13
Skoolie
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Posts: 142
Quote:
Originally Posted by Charlies.Contingency View Post
Gauges you NEED on a 6.5L:
1. Exhaust Gas Temp. (E.G.T.)
2. Water Temperature (Good quality real time temp gauge.)
3. Transmission Temperature (Keep from cooking the Trans.)
Ok I will get those , I was just reading about it.

Quote:
Other gauges to consider when budget allows. (In order)
4. Fuel Pressure (Electronic of course)
5. Engine Oil Temperature (Good to have.)
6. Engine Oil Pressure. (A good detailed one will be more accurate.)
7. RPM Tachometer. (This should be number 3 if you don't have a stock one.)
8. Boost. (Monitor turbo boost. Only really needed if upgrading turbo.)
9. Volts (If you're into lights and accessories, get a good gauge.)
10. Speedometer - Miles/Kilometers per hour. (Good if your stock one dies.)
11. Vacuum gauge. (Some people have them.)
12. Intake air temperature. (If you feel like it.)
Could you get those values from the computer using a ODBII ? I was thinking to buy a cheak 10inch tablet so I can torque ( the app) and a bluethood odb so I can setup custom gauges and that way I don't need to buy real ones.
pepepito is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-25-2015, 11:26 AM   #14
Skoolie
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Texas
Posts: 107
I'm not sure if you can, or if those values are even good. I've never heard somebody talk about going all new tech on a 6.5, but hey, at least the engines are cheaper to replace then any of the other big brand diesels.

Keep us updated on progress though.
__________________
He who is smart enough to stay out of politics, is burdened by being governed by those that are dumber then him. -"Me"
Charlies.Contingency is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-25-2015, 03:24 PM   #15
New Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Posts: 7
This video shows some values collected by 'AutoEnginuity' which works quite well, and it seems to be very responsive and accurate.

mangus580 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2015, 11:14 AM   #16
New Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Posts: 7
I posted yestarday, showing a youtube video of my AutoEnginuity setup I used for one of my 6.5's, but I am guessing I am not allowed to share links yet - as a moderator had to approve it, and now its gone.

Anyway, if you are interested in seeing the video, let me know. It shows 9 different values at once, and they all appear to be quite accurate.
mangus580 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-2015, 02:16 AM   #17
Skoolie
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Posts: 142
Torque app in my chone

Here are screenshots of data I can see using my phone :







This are values from the ECU so they are accurate otherwise how the ECU will be able to run or shutoff the engine ?

There is additional GM custom PIDs that I can add that will give me a ton of other GM specific info so I think this plus 3 additional gauges should be more than enough.
pepepito is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2015, 10:00 AM   #18
New Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Posts: 7
Lets see if I can post links yet....

Excellent article here about the 6.5 that I stumbled upon last night. Worth a read for anyone who is planning to 'work' a 6.5.

I messed with the torque app for the first time last night - pretty nice, but I am not sure if it supports all the sensors on the GM or not yet. I was diagnosing a powerstroke with it.
mangus580 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2015, 12:38 PM   #19
Skoolie
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Posts: 142
Quote:
Originally Posted by mangus580 View Post
Lets see if I can post links yet....

Excellent article here about the 6.5 that I stumbled upon last night. Worth a read for anyone who is planning to 'work' a 6.5.

I messed with the torque app for the first time last night - pretty nice, but I am not sure if it supports all the sensors on the GM or not yet. I was diagnosing a powerstroke with it.
If you get torque pro ( paid version) you get the extended PIDs , look inside of the settings or google "Extended PIDs for powerstroke" you will find millions of forum post with PIDs that you can add manually is quite interesting. Basically if you know that data the computer will give you for an specific sensor you can type it in manually and you will have a gauge in torque or at least you w,ill see the value.

pepepito is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:55 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.