Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 10-29-2005, 07:47 PM   #1

8.2L Diesel maintenance

Hi guys! I'm a newbie that's been lurking (dreaming) for a while, but I just haven't had the time/money to buy a bus and start a conversion. Now I've finally done it! I just found a bought an '89 GMC 66 pass with a stock 8.2L diesel (non-turbo) that has already been converted. The family of 9 I bought it from did a great job on the conversion! They drove it to Honduras and back and lived in it for several months. I hope to take my family of 10 to Yellowstone in it someday. The inside is great (bunks, toilet, sinks, stove, etc.). I just finished installing a Suburban RV furnace, and am designing a shower. My wife says the outside needs a little cosmetic work, but she smiled when she said it, so I'm OK.

No idea how many miles, (it says 18,800 - yeah right) but it starts/runs great! It's also got a 40% overdrive/direct/low range transmission in line behind the stock 5 speed, so I can almost hit 65 downhill!

Now I'm looking for advice on how to take care of my new baby. I don't want to start any arguments, but I'd love to hear some opinions on brands of diesel oil, antifreeze/additives, filters, etc., as well as max RPM's to run, maintenance intervals, and anything else you can think of that would help me make it last a l-o-n-g time. I have some diesel farm equipment that I use the manufacturer's fluids in, but I've never run a diesel over the road, and don't really know what I'm doing when it comes to maintenance/repairs. I'd appreciate any tips you could give.

I'm suprised you don't have a "maintenance/repair" feature forum. Hope I did the right thing posting this in "Everything else"...

I'm glad that I finally "qualify" to join the group!
Thanks in advance for your opinions.
Ken Wotring
Aurora, WV
mailto:kwotring@frontiernet.net

kwotring is offline   Reply With Quote