Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 12-12-2018, 06:52 PM   #1
Mini-Skoolie

Allison 4000 conversion to Mechanical 8v92TA?

Can anyone give me more detailed info on doing this swap? I use my truck commercially and want to keep down time to a minimum. I used to be a car mechanic so I understand all the tech, but I'm missing a lot of detailed info. Like which model should I use? Are the computers the same? How much input from the engine do I need? Etc etc. Engine HP is 400+, Torque is 1200 I think. Would like to be able to handle 50k lbs.

Stilldream'n is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2018, 11:18 PM   #2
Bus Crazy

Year: 1990
Coachwork: Crown, integral. (With 2kW of tiltable solar)
Chassis: Crown Supercoach II (rear engine)
Engine: Detroit 6V92TAC, DDEC 2, Jake brake, Allison HT740
Rated Cap: 37,400 lbs GVWR
Rear axle ratio will determine whether you use a non-overdrive transmission like the HT740 or an OD trans like the later Allisons. The 8V92 is happiest at around 1700 to 1800 RPM, so a 3.7 axle will have you doing about 60 MPH at that RPM in direct-drive top. Just don't lug it - it's not like a modern 4-stroke that happy at 1200 to 1400 RPM cruise!

John
Iceni John is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2018, 05:47 AM   #3
Bus Geek

Year: 1991
Coachwork: Carpenter
Chassis: International 3800
Engine: DTA360 / MT643
Rated Cap: 7 Row Handicap