Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 08-23-2015, 09:49 PM   #1

Basic Mechanical Info

Ok, I'm completely new to this and need some help. We are looking to buy a bus, but I'm not even sure where to start in terms of mechanical items, so here are some newbie questions I'm hoping you all can help me with. For reference, we want a 70+ passenger bus that we can take all over the country including through mountains. We plan to out a crap ton of miles on it.

1. How much does the age of a bus affect it other than price. Is there a point where you are asking for trouble if it is too old?

2. Mileage. Basically same question as above, how many miles is too many? When are you likely to have to do a rebuild and what type of cost will that be?

3. What size engine would I need? How will that affect the bus other than probably less mpg.

4. What brand/model engines are most reliable and what ones should I avoid?

5. Same as above except for transmissions.

6. Does having the flat nosed style bus with engine in rear make much difference than the other style with engine in front?

7. Are tires that expensive that you need to make sure they have a lot of tread?

8. What else do I need to know that I don't know about the mechanical aspects?

Thanks in advance for your help.

Jdmapes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2015, 10:19 PM   #2
Bus Crazy

Year: 2000
Coachwork: Blue Bird
Chassis: International
Engine: TE 444
Rated Cap: 12
tires are about $400 each, also you need to look at the date codes on the tires since school buses do not always do a bunch of miles, the tires on mine are 5 years old yet have 90% of their tread left
Kubla is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2015, 03:08 AM   #3
Bus Geek

Year: 1992
Coachwork: Bluebird
Chassis: TC2000 FE
Engine: 190hp 5.9 Cummins
Rated Cap: 72
You need to go do a whole bunch of reading and searching before starting new threads.