Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-10-2006, 12:30 AM   #1
Bus Geek
 
the_experience03's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Saint James, MN
Posts: 2,669
Send a message via MSN to the_experience03 Send a message via Yahoo to the_experience03
Having never touched an 8.2, I can only hope that this helps. On my injector pump there is a small primer. It just looks like a little circular thing on top, but if you turn it counterclockwise (I think), it pops up. Then per Ford's directions, you pump it atleast 20 times until you feel pressure. Don't feel pressure? Keep on pumping! Anyway...after sufficient pumps you then close it back down (we're talking about 100 pumps here). Then you crack the bleeder between the elements on the fuel filter assembly. After sufficient back draining time (like bleeding brakes), you pump it up some more. You repeat this process over and over again until you feel ready to turn the key. When you go to start it you keep your foot on the floor. Within 10 seconds it should fire up. It will be cranky, but if it keeps running and eventually clears itself up you have been successful. If it dies you need to pump some more.

I believe Jason is the resident expert on priming diesels as just about every post he has about his WVO conversion mentions having to do it

BTW...did you fill the filters with fresh fuel before putting them on? That's that much less fuel you have to prime
__________________
http://farm4.static.flickr.com/3024/...09f20d39_m.jpg
Skooling it...one state at a time...
the_experience03 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2006, 05:43 PM   #2
Bus Nut
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Idaho
Posts: 448
Since an 8.2 does not have an injector pump it is a little easier to prime. A lot of guys with the two stroke detroits use a small cheap automotive fuel pump to do the trick. It sounds like you were on the right track pressureizing the tank.

You might try putting the return line from the rack into a bucket of fuel. Then use a fuel pump or the shop vac and see if any bubbles are coming out. If you have bubbles then there is still air in the system. It is also possible that you have a bad check valve in the system somewhere. If this is the case the fuel is draining back into the tank. Though if this just started after installing new filters then it is probable just lost prime.
busone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2006, 10:37 PM   #3
Bus Geek
 
the_experience03's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Saint James, MN
Posts: 2,669
Send a message via MSN to the_experience03 Send a message via Yahoo to the_experience03
Dee-dee-dee.....I had a brain fart when I started talking about priming the IP since he doesn't have one and I knew that....

Didja get it started yet?
__________________
http://farm4.static.flickr.com/3024/...09f20d39_m.jpg
Skooling it...one state at a time...
the_experience03 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2006, 12:09 AM   #4
Bus Geek
 
the_experience03's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Saint James, MN
Posts: 2,669
Send a message via MSN to the_experience03 Send a message via Yahoo to the_experience03
It is a 4 stroke. In fact, it was Detroit's first foray into the world of 4 stroke diesels. The reason it says GM could be two fold. First, it's in a GM chassis. Second, GM owns (or owned anyway....not sure about now that Merc has a stake) Detroit Diesel, Allison, Turbo-hydramatic, New Process Gear, New Venture Gear, etc. GM is a huge company with their hand atleast first knuckle deep in A LOT of pockets.
__________________
http://farm4.static.flickr.com/3024/...09f20d39_m.jpg
Skooling it...one state at a time...
the_experience03 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2006, 04:09 PM   #5
Bus Geek
 
lapeer20m's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: near flint michigan
Posts: 2,653
Quote:
Originally Posted by convertabus
The funny thing is that a couple of years ago I ran low on fuel (even though my "60 gallon" tank will never take more than 45 gallons). I think it was in Kingman, AZ. !
You should ask phill about running out of fuel @ 45 gallons when you have a 60 gallon tank lol......Does YOUR fuel guage read empty when you've only burned 45 gallons?

I don't know anything about the 8.2 DD, so i have no good info on how to prime the system. I'm not at all opposed to going to autozone and installing a $35 "universal" fuel pump into the circuit. Anyone that's gonna run veggie should certianly install one. They're cheap and easy to work with. I will tell ya a story about my dt360....

She was brand new to me. I was driving along, and she acted like she just ran out of fuel even though i was @ about 1/2 tank. I tried and tried and tried to get her primed, but it wouldn't work. I put 10 gallons of diesel into the tank, but it still woulnd't start. Finally i decided that there must be a hole in the fuel line somewhere between the tank and the engine allowing the lifter pump to suck air rather than fuel. I ended up replacing the fuel line and she fired right up.
__________________
Quis custodiet ipsos custodes (who will watch the watchmen?)
lapeer20m is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2006, 11:46 PM   #6
Bus Geek
 
the_experience03's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Saint James, MN
Posts: 2,669
Send a message via MSN to the_experience03 Send a message via Yahoo to the_experience03
My tank is supposed to be 60 gallons, but I've only ever fit about 35 and my gauge is TERRIBLY inaccurate. I choose to use the odometer as a fuel gauge instead as mine seems to have a mind of its own. The big duct tape sign on the mirrow that says "Fill at 1/4 tank or above! Gauge is wrong!" certainly has proven to be true
__________________
http://farm4.static.flickr.com/3024/...09f20d39_m.jpg
Skooling it...one state at a time...
the_experience03 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2006, 02:31 PM   #7
Bus Nut
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Idaho
Posts: 448
It sounds like you still have air in the lines. I also have an 8.2 on a GM bus. I also never let her go below 1/4 tank. I hate to have her die on the road. I can get about 50 gallons in the tank.

I need to replace my fuel filters and all the rubber fuel line. I was looking it over real close the other day and noticed the rubber lines are all cracked.
busone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2006, 10:59 PM   #8
Bus Geek
 
the_experience03's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Saint James, MN
Posts: 2,669
Send a message via MSN to the_experience03 Send a message via Yahoo to the_experience03
Ok...here's the straight poop from a Detroit mechanic. I explained your problem and he just laughed. Here's how he said to fix it....get a small hand pump and thread it into the outlet of the fuel filters. Then put the supply for the engine on the output from the pump. Pump and pump and pump and pump until it feels like your arm is going to fall off. Then have a person crank the bus while you continue to pump. HAve a can of ether ready because you will likely have to keep giving it very short blasts as it purges the air. Once it is running smooth you need to disconnect the pump from the lines and hook them back up to the filter....fast. As the bus chokes on the air it's sucking in while you do that, have your partner keep it alive with a little ether. Too much and the motor will die.

After explaining that he said, "I bet he'll never run out of fuel or forget to fill the filters when he changes them ever again."

I believe the electric pump as Jason suggest would also work quite nicely.
__________________
http://farm4.static.flickr.com/3024/...09f20d39_m.jpg
Skooling it...one state at a time...
the_experience03 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2006, 06:52 AM   #9
Bus Geek
 
lapeer20m's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: near flint michigan
Posts: 2,653
you can mount the aux pump anywhere between the tank and the injector pump. The closer to the tank the better though. If you have steel fuel lines, you can cut them and use rubber fuel tubing and hose clamps.

The fuel pump i used i got from autozone. I simply asked for a generic universal fuel pump that creates under 10 psi. It was pretty cheap, well under 50 bucks. I don't have the model number or make handy, sorry

wire a switch in so that the pump is only on when you need to prime the injector pump.
__________________
Quis custodiet ipsos custodes (who will watch the watchmen?)
lapeer20m is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2006, 10:08 AM   #10
Bus Geek
 
the_experience03's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Saint James, MN
Posts: 2,669
Send a message via MSN to the_experience03 Send a message via Yahoo to the_experience03
How did you bypass the pump when it wasn't on, Jason? Did you just make the lift pump pull the fuel through the pump? I'm just curious as I continue work on my veggie conversion.
__________________
http://farm4.static.flickr.com/3024/...09f20d39_m.jpg
Skooling it...one state at a time...
the_experience03 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
bleed the coolant system chev49 Conversion General Discussions 3 05-22-2012 04:05 PM
Water bleed port in the air line? TygerCub Conversion General Discussions 3 03-06-2012 10:24 AM
Fuel Pump For Generator kc_4_jc Conversion General Discussions 2 09-29-2011 11:26 PM
TRX 350 Fuel Pump the_experience03 Everything Else | General Skoolie Discussions 2 05-28-2009 10:34 PM
Aux fuel pump? mike Veggie Oil | WVO | Biodiesel | SVO 1 03-18-2007 10:48 AM

» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:14 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.