Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 03-11-2015, 12:54 AM   #1
Mini-Skoolie

Changing engine on FE?

Do you pull it out the top? Grill area? Drop it from underneath?

Stilldream'n is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2015, 01:52 AM   #2
Bus Nut

Year: 1995
Engine: DT408
Just a guess here. I'm a mechanic and own a FE. I've considered the same thing and it looks like it needs to come out the front. Maybe pull the "face" off the bus (the parts that unbolt including bumper), drain coolant & remove the radiator & coolant hoses, Remove air duct work, unbolt the cross-member, support the trans (if not removing), unbolt the torque converter, unhook the electrical, fuel lines, linkages, exhaust, etc. Either support engine on a rolling dolly or heavy duty chrerry picker and unbolt the front mounts and bell housing bolts and slide forward.
Like I said, just a guess. Trying to jack that thing high enough to remove from below is going to be a real challenge. Trying to get it up out of the hatch opening and out the door is even a bigger one. I have done that sort of thing (marine mechanic bringing engines out and in through a side door) but honestly unless you have a very agile and strong way to manipulate a 1500lb.+ engine safely I wouldn't try that approach.

Hope this helps.
I am an sojourner in the earth; hide not Your Commandments from me. Psalm 119:19

Here is the patience of the saints; here are the ones keeping the commandments of YAHWEH, and the faith of Yahshua. Rev. 14:12
sojourner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2015, 11:59 AM   #3
Mini-Skoolie

I ask because of my pipe dream of using an FE for hot shot hauling. I think a converted FE would clean up a little better, but considering the mileage I would rack up, I need to keep in mind the reality of having to change the engine. Also an FE maximizes length and has better visibility for negotiating tight turns.