Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 09-22-2016, 09:25 PM   #1

Hydraulic or Air Brakes?

Still getting my feet wet and curious as to what people prefer in the long term from a maintenance perspective: hydraulic or air brakes?

J3PO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2016, 09:33 PM   #2
Bus Nut

Chassis: GMC or Chevrolet, I hope
Engine: gasser probably
I'm a new noob here, but from what I've read. Air >hydraulic

Sent from my BLU LIFE ONE X using Tapatalk
Old 09-22-2016, 09:37 PM   #3
Skoolie

Year: 1995
Coachwork: International
Chassis: Carpenter
Engine: d466 mechanical
There's a reason big rigs have air brakes!
Old 09-22-2016, 09:42 PM   #4

Quote:
Originally Posted by NowhereFast View Post
Touché - thank you
Old 09-22-2016, 09:45 PM   #5
Bus Nut

Where I live (BC Canada) need a special addition to my license for air brakes so I went with hydraulic brakes on my bus.

Sent from my SM-G530W using Tapatalk
Tootalltechie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2016, 12:50 AM   #6
Bus Nut

Don't automatically be fooled by big-rigs use of air brakes. There are plenty of pros and cons about the systems.

Air brakes were first used on trains (in part because trains were designed/constructed first.) Air is used because it's many things - but not not exactly because it's best. The biggest thing about it is that it's free - it's everywhere. If it leaks, no problem - you can get more! You don't need to clean it up if it "spills." It has little weight to it, and it's fairly easy to filter out contaminants (like water.)

Many of the same things can still be said about trucks and trailers - you pick up a trailer that's been sitting around a few weeks, and you just fill the air tank back up again, and away you go. But air is picky - it needs to be dry, if you get water in the system, you can get ice, and things will freeze up.