Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 12-04-2016, 09:51 PM   #1

98 International 3800 DRL on

Hello everyone.
I am new to the Skoolie club, but I bought a 1998 International 3800 Carpenter series with the dt466e in it about a month ago, and have been working on gutting it, and trying to crank it every once in a while to make sure it stays running well. When I went to start it this afternoon, it had zero battery power. No buzzers, clicks, gauges moving, lights, or anything. I put it on a battery charger and let it charge for a few hours and then went out to start it. Started up fine, but I noticed that a headlight was blown. Took it for a drive to make sure everything was good. When I got home and parked it, the "good" headlight never turned off. I have tried everything I can think of short of disconnecting the battery (guess I'll just let it die again). What is causing the DRLs to stay on? I'm also assuming that whatever is going on may be the reason one light is out.
Any suggestions?

HardenDrew is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2016, 12:07 AM   #2
Bus Crazy

It is not good for batteries to be discharged 100%. Sometimes as a battery gets older it will discharge and then not take a recharge.

I am not sure exactly what you mean when you say DRL.

If headlights are not turning off I would suggest you most likely have a headlight switch that has gone bad. It happens which is why most of them are mounted in an easy to get to location for service.

On a Loadstar bus I owned I had a leak in the cowl that tended to drip down onto the headlight switch. It didn't take long for the resistor coil to turn green and malfunction.

Short term, until you can determine why your lights won't turn off, disconnect the battery when you are not using the bus.
cowlitzcoach is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2016, 02:22 AM   #3
Bus Nut

Year: 2005
Coachwork: Thomas