Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-06-2019, 06:22 PM   #11
Bus Geek
 
o1marc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Dawsonville, Ga.
Posts: 7,178
Year: 1999
Coachwork: Genesis
Chassis: International
Engine: DT466/3060
Rated Cap: 77
My bus easily runs at 85mph. I don't need more gears for more speed as beyond this just gets dangerous. Fuel mileage difference is substantial though.The 5 speeds have OD.
o1marc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2019, 06:33 PM   #12
Skoolie
 
Rogue1bus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Posts: 146
Honestly I donít wanna cruise faster than 60mph at that speed Iíll be turning around 2000 rpm which is perfect. My goal is to cruise between 55-60 and get good fuel economy. My bus is a RE so itís shaped like a brick and will have a top deck soon so I donít see the point cruising faster than 60, with that much air resistance my fuel economy will go to **** no mater the gearing.
Rogue1bus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2019, 08:38 PM   #13
Bus Geek
 
Tango's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Houston, Texas
Posts: 8,462
Year: 1946
Coachwork: Chevrolet/Wayne
Chassis: 1- 1/2 ton
Engine: Cummins 4BT
Rated Cap: 15
"Cruising speed"...but at what rpm? The best game plan is to gear for your chosen cruising speed to be within about 10% of your engines sweet spot...which will always be within about 10% of its' peak torque rpm.


On my 4BT for example, that spot is 1800 rpm so all my re-gearing was designed to run about 63-65 at those rpm's. I can always push a little harder if needed but keeping within that range will yield the best mpg's as well as engine life.


Ooops...late reply.
Tango is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2019, 09:58 PM   #14
Bus Nut
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Cincinnati, Ohio
Posts: 840
Year: 2000
Coachwork: Blue Bird
Chassis: International
Engine: TE 444
Rated Cap: 12
It will NOT be plug and play, you will need the wiring harness for the 2000 series transmission, which cost me $750 to have made, hopefully the vehicle the transmission came out of is still around and they did not destroy the old harness getting it out
Kubla is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2019, 10:08 PM   #15
Skoolie
 
Rogue1bus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Posts: 146
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kubla View Post
It will NOT be plug and play, you will need the wiring harness for the 2000 series transmission, which cost me $750 to have made, hopefully the vehicle the transmission came out of is still around and they did not destroy the old harness getting it out


Damn, the bus it was removed from was destroyed as a monster truck thing.... Iím going to have to figure out the wiring.. the transmission is coming with its own ECM though.
Rogue1bus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2019, 10:34 PM   #16
Bus Nut
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Cincinnati, Ohio
Posts: 840
Year: 2000
Coachwork: Blue Bird
Chassis: International
Engine: TE 444
Rated Cap: 12
It is going to cost, just the plug ends you need will be several hundred dollars, I saved about 100 dollars because I had the yellow and red plugs for the TCU because the scrap yard cut the harness instead of figuring out how to unplug them, there is also a big round plug that goes into the transmission plus about 4 small ones on the trans, at least one to the engine ECU, diagnostic port to the inside of the bus, another for trans temp gauge if you want one. I bought my 2000 series before I found out about the wiring harness, if I had known that the harness was going to cost more than the transmission I probably have done an axle ratio swap instead
Kubla is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2019, 10:37 PM   #17
Bus Nut
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Cincinnati, Ohio
Posts: 840
Year: 2000
Coachwork: Blue Bird
Chassis: International
Engine: TE 444
Rated Cap: 12
Another thing that you need to know is that the TCU body cannot be grounded, must be electrically isolated from the chassis, grounds through a ground wire
Kubla is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2019, 08:42 AM   #18
Almost There
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: Mud Lake, Idaho
Posts: 74
Even if it was destroyed in a monster truck show, the wiring and connectors you need might still be intact?
84chevyguyid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2019, 09:16 AM   #19
Skoolie
 
Rogue1bus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Posts: 146
Looks like they have a wiring harness, Iíll pick it up tomorrow.
Rogue1bus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2019, 10:51 AM   #20
Bus Geek
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Columbus Ohio
Posts: 11,656
Year: 1991
Coachwork: Carpenter
Chassis: International 3800
Engine: DTA360 / MT643
Rated Cap: 7 Row Handicap
you'll need to repgoram the Navistar ECM transmission type from AT/MT to Allison MD. so that your dashboard speedometer works, cruise works, and you dont set error codes in the computer..


sounds like you got this project under control!. is the TCM a single connector TCM or a 2 connector?


if its single connector, its a 6 speed capable trans and TCM.
-Christopher
cadillackid is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:13 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.