Old 10-07-2016, 12:02 PM   #1

Finding a bus!

Hey all! First post and I'm just getting started on this venture. I'm looking for a 1995-1998 65+ pax international conventional bus with the DT466 (mechanical) and air brakes. Also a few other requirements such as no split rims, etc.

It seems all I can find is flat nose with dt466 and air brakes or conventional with dt466 and hydraulic. Also plenty of conventionals with 444e and air brakes. Am I missing something or did they just not make the big motor with air brakes in a conventional during those years?

I want the dt466 and air brakes so all I am looking at doing to the drivetrain is swapping rear axles with a 20k lb air ride from a class 8 truck with 3.55 gears and also swapping in 10 speed Eaton from same truck and converting bus to manual shift ( this is why I need conventional and not flat).

I will be moving other stuff over: a few air tanks, espar diesel cab heater, aluminum wheels for the whole bus, etc but it is all irrelevant for this post.

If anybody can let me know if they made 65+ pax (or preferably 72+ pax) international conventional busses with the dt466 and air brakes, please do! If not, I guess I'll just have to settle and buy one with the 444e and eventually swap in a Series 50/60 Detroit, space permitting 😀
AJMyers1991 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2016, 03:01 PM   #2
Bus Geek

Year: 1991
Coachwork: Carpenter
Chassis: International S3800
Engine: DT360
Rated Cap: 7 Row Handicap
ive seen the DT-466E's in the 71 passenger dog-nose busses. , the T-444E was a lot lower cost so as the yeasrs came up you saw a lot of those.. schools in mountaineess areas rtended to buy RE's and often got 8.3 cummins it seemed in those..

therers definitely alot of 11 row dognose with DT466's in them..

-Christopher
cadillackid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2016, 03:04 PM   #3

Yes but I'm looking for an 11+ row conventional (dog nose) bus with a dt466 mechanical engine and air brakes.