Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 11-04-2019, 06:43 PM   #1
Mini-Skoolie

Gear Ratio - Speed & Mileage Sweet Spot? - And other Stuff

I am a skoolie wannabe / newbie who's getting fairly set now, on what I THINK might be my ideal bus, in terms of coach-type-size at least. I'm headed toward a kind of grand-scale, bucket-list tour of North American with my lady, visiting old friends all over the country, chasing good weather, with lots of national parks and natural wonders along the way, hoping to overstay our welcome everywhere we go.

Our land yacht's gotta be big enough to live aboard for months at a time, but small enough to be admissible to camping places where 35 feet is the limit, and maybe even the occasional parking lot that might let me hog two spaces (for the price of three)? Overall length of 31 to 33 feet would be my ideal. I want about 24 - 25 ft. of linear living space, aft of the driver's seat, with headroom a little over 6 feet (I'm only 5'10").

I presently see a lot of these 10-window Internationals (pictured) at auction, selling for $2,500 to $4,000, depending on age and condition. This one's a 2004 from e-Bay where it just sold for $2,700. There's a few for sale now--some with the handicap back, which seems like a plus(?).

Now to the drive train thing: In general, it seems like International's diesels lead the hit parade. Is that right? I detect special reverence for the DT 466E and the DT 360, but less enthusiasm for the 444, which is what seems most often to power the buses for which I lust. So what's your vote for best power plant? Secondly, I almost always hear the Allison name for transmissions, and I frankly don't know squat about the options for rear differentials. But I DO know that when I'm changing locations, I want to keep up with at least near-freeway speeds (60 - 65?) without winding out the RPMs and wasting a ton of fuel.