Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-09-2019, 12:26 PM   #1
Skoolie
 
Rogue1bus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Posts: 109
How to enable/turn on cruise control

I have an Amtran 2002 t444e and it has the cruise control switches etc but they donít do anything. Iím pretty sure that the cruise is probably just disabled which Iíve heard is common for school buses.

Can I turn it on with a cable and software or something myself? If so what cable/software do I need?

Or should I just take it to a dealership? If itís not too expensive or difficult Iíd prefer to do it myself...
Rogue1bus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2019, 01:11 PM   #2
Bus Crazy
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Picton,Ont, Can.
Posts: 1,520
Year: 1997
Coachwork: Bluebird
Chassis: GMC
Engine: Cat 3116
Rated Cap: 72
Likely need a vacuum source for that to work. Any pics of the unit installed?


John
__________________
Question everything!
BlackJohn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2019, 01:28 PM   #3
Bus Geek
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Eastern WA
Posts: 3,817
Year: 2002
Coachwork: Bluebird
Chassis: All American RE (A3RE)
Engine: Cummins ISC (8.3)
Rated Cap: 72
I am pretty sure that the cruise control on the T444e is all computer. No vacuum source.

AFIK: It is an ECM programming option.
PNW_Steve is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2019, 01:51 PM   #4
Bus Nut
 
Dog Rescuer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: On the Road
Posts: 485
Year: 2000
Coachwork: BlueBird
Chassis: International 3800
Engine: 7.3L 210HP Turbo Diesel T444E
Rated Cap: 28 + 3 wheel chairs.
My Cruise control button was set for RPM to warm the engine in the winter - it was computer switched by the fabulous CadillacKid Christopher. It will work as is for a steady RPM.
__________________
- Roger (Dog.Rescuer)
Dog Rescuer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2019, 02:15 PM   #5
Bus Nut
 
Johnny Mullet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: Ashtabula, Ohio
Posts: 877
Year: 1996
Coachwork: Thomas
Chassis: International
Engine: T444E 7.3L
If you are near NE Ohio or NE Pennsylvania, I can enable it also.
__________________
Mullet's Thunder Bus Build
Johnny Mullet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2019, 02:35 PM   #6
Bus Geek
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Columbus Ohio
Posts: 10,925
Year: 1991
Coachwork: Carpenter
Chassis: International 3800
Engine: DTA360 / MT643
Rated Cap: 7 Row Handicap
yeppers the others have it right, its an option most often disabled by the schools and easy to turn on... post where you sre at, there may be a fellow skoolie with the compouter interface nearby.. navistar gives away the Level 1 version of the software (servicemaxx J170 which you can enable it yourself, however you need the RP1210 interface box which is not cheap (even the knock-offs)..



finding someone to turn it on for you is likely the easiest for you unless you want to own the scan tools for future diagnosis and such
-Christopher
cadillackid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2019, 02:37 PM   #7
Bus Geek
 
o1marc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Dawsonville, Ga.
Posts: 4,691
Year: 1999
Coachwork: Genesis
Chassis: International
Engine: DT466/3060
Rated Cap: 77
My cruise control works fantastically, but the hi idle button does nothing.
o1marc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2019, 02:53 PM   #8
Bus Geek
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Columbus Ohio
Posts: 10,925
Year: 1991
Coachwork: Carpenter
Chassis: International 3800
Engine: DTA360 / MT643
Rated Cap: 7 Row Handicap
marc, turn your cruise control main switch to ON , then try revving the engine with the pedal in neutral to where you want, then press 'SET' or you can hold down the resume / accel and it should slowly speed up the engine.

-Christopher
cadillackid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2019, 02:55 PM   #9
Bus Geek
 
o1marc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Dawsonville, Ga.
Posts: 4,691
Year: 1999
Coachwork: Genesis
Chassis: International
Engine: DT466/3060
Rated Cap: 77
Quote:
Originally Posted by cadillackid View Post
marc, turn your cruise control main switch to ON , then try revving the engine with the pedal in neutral to where you want, then press 'SET' or you can hold down the resume / accel and it should slowly speed up the engine.

-Christopher
When I get it running I'll give that a try. Makes sense, though I thought it had a set high idle speed. Thanks
o1marc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2019, 02:57 PM   #10
Bus Geek
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Columbus Ohio
Posts: 10,925
Year: 1991
Coachwork: Carpenter
Chassis: International 3800
Engine: DTA360 / MT643
Rated Cap: 7 Row Handicap
the cummins have a set high idle, most of the Navistars you can adjust as desired...



or you can enable the CAP which is an auto high idle adjust.. thats what I run on mine.. it idles itself up and down to maintain a coolant temp of 165-170


-Christopher
cadillackid is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:43 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.