Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 10-28-2019, 11:54 PM   #1
Mini-Skoolie

Shorty Schoolie Advice

Thinking of buying a shorty to convert for tiny home living. I would likely sell my little 40mpg station wagon and be full-time in the bus. Found one I like that's going for $8500. Dealer says it's an International T444 7.3 powerstroke turbodiesel engine. It has about 220,000 miles. I am just getting started researching all of this and looking for any advice or I formation about this type of bus. Good solid reliable engine? Average mpg In can expect? I know thst can really vary just seeking some info. Thanks in advance!

Scvington22 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2019, 12:18 AM   #2
Bus Geek

Year: 2007
Coachwork: Thomas Built
Chassis: Minotour
Engine: Chevy Express 3500 6.6l
Seems a little expensive. What’s the bus model and transmission? What year? How many windows? Where’s the bus from?

Some things can make a bus more expensive such as a bus that has a high ceiling like those purchased to haul adults, underbody storage, and transmissions designed for highway use, being 7 to 9 windows.
Danjo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2019, 12:59 AM   #3
Mini-Skoolie

I guess I don't know the transmission and model. It just says international on the bus and that's the only information he gave. I looked up the VIN and found that it's a 2001. It has 5 windows and is from Phoenix, AZ, used by Mesa Unified school district.
Old 10-29-2019, 01:18 AM   #4
Mini-Skoolie

Info from vin decoder-
Manufacturer
Amtran
Model Year
Model
Engine Series
International/Navistar T444 Diesel
Engine Capacity
V-8, 7.3L (444CID)
Fuel Type
Diesel
Vehicle Details
International School Bus
Drive Line Type
4X2
Brake System
Hydraulic
GVWR Class
16,001 - 19,500lbs.
Country
US Produced Incomplete Bus
Old 10-29-2019, 02:26 AM   #5
Bus Geek

Year: 2002
Coachwork: Thomas Built Bus