Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 11-16-2017, 03:20 PM   #1

Year: 1997
Coachwork: AmTran
Chassis: International
Engine: DT466
Rated Cap: 78
Swapping an MT643 for a manual

Hi all,

This is my first time posting in here, so here goes nothing.

Me and a few friends from college stumbled upon skoolies and decided to give it a shot and convert one for a national parks trip we plan to do after graduation. We looked for a bit and pulled the trigger on a '97 AmTram Genesis with a DT466 paired to an Allison MT643. Great combo right? Well it would be if the transmission were functioning properly.

It seems that the lock up clutch in the torque converter isn't locking up, so we only ever get to 3rd gear, unlocked. From what I've read, this will essentially spell death for the transmission if operated like that long term, from elevated temps. And we only ever get up to ~45mph, with much higher RPMs than I feel comfortable maintaining for too long.

So from my understanding, we replace the torque converter. Doesn't sound like too difficult a job (I have access to a diesel shop with a lift and heavy duty equipment), but I can't find a used one or the proper new one anywhere online. Quotes to get the work done in nearby shops are around $2000 for parts and labor.

We're not willing to bite the bullet on $2000 just yet, so I started looking into replacing the transmission altogether. For another MT643, I've seen a few in the $900 range. But what I'd really like to do is replace it with a manual, such as an Eaton Fuller T14607. I found a truck parts store that sells refurbished units for ~$400, just for the transmission itself (no shift linkage, no nothing). If i'm not mistaken, both the DT466 and T14607 have an SAE #2 bolt pattern so they'd match up just fine.