Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 04-08-2019, 05:22 PM   #1
Almost There

Year: 1999
Chassis: MVP RE
Engine: 5.9 Cummins
Air bags or shocks

I have a 1999 Thomas RE with 5.9 engine. I think either the air bags and/or the shocks need to be replaced on this bus. Two years ago when I bought the bus the school bus mechanic said that the suspension was ok. But it just look like the tire is too close to the wheel well. All of the seats are out except 7 up front.

The bus seem to drive ok but I'm not a professional. Look at the attached picture and please tell me what you think. The bus does not have leaf springs, just two air bags and two shocks in the rear. The front have leaf springs.
Attached Thumbnails
IMG_2063.jpg  

budbud7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2019, 05:34 PM   #2
Bus Nut

Year: 2003
Coachwork: Bluebird
Chassis: International 3800
Engine: DT466E (195hp, 520tq)
The shocks don't hold the weight of the bus, the springs (leaf, coil or air) do that. It may not be the bags, but there is a leak in the boat somewhere.... Do they pump up after the bus is running? If they do, how long does it take for them to drop after it's shut off? Can you hear the leak?
Old 04-08-2019, 05:54 PM   #3
Bus Crazy

Year: 2001
Coachwork: Blue Bird
Chassis: IH
Engine: T444E
Rated Cap: 14
Start the bus. Let the air system charge. Suspension air bags should inflate when air pressure reaches 80 (maybe as low as 60).

If the air pressure reaches 100+ and the air bags are still flat, you have a problem to diagnose. Any hissing air pressure is probably bad, but most parts are reasonably easy to fix. Suspension "leveling valve" is a fairly common failure and easily replaced.
Brad_SwiftFur is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2019, 06:19 PM   #4
Almost There