Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 07-23-2017, 02:46 PM   #1

Cooling issues

Wanted to pick some brains for ideas/suggestions. I recently purchased a 03 Bluebird transit bus we are converting. It has the 8.3l cummins and has 6th gear disabled. I'm currently waiting on bluebird to authorize 6th gear to get the tcm reflashed. With this being a transit bus while I'm on the highway my engine temp reaches 220* F at about 60mph 2200rpm. It triggers the warning system that will shutdown the engine eventually. I have yet to reach that point. I'm curious if my problem is adequate airflow through the side mounted radiator, or hydraulic fan inefficiency due to design of intended use. What radiator is used on a "highway" coach? Should I go to electric "pusher" fans? I'm a certified auto tech by trade and a fabricator, so I'm not intimidated by necessary "modding". I'm just not familiar enough with "busses". Any help would be greatly appreciated. Thanks in advance.

Buzzzilla is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2017, 04:45 PM   #2
Bus Crazy

i would check the cooling system, n radiator as u r 35 degrees too warm. of course there can be engine issue as well. If you have constructed street rods or even buy and sell from like say IAA, you know that fabbing up radiator supports for another radiator, n redoing the inlet and outlets is not difficult. I personally would not use elect fan, instead would either repair my system or make new ..
Old 07-23-2017, 05:17 PM   #3
Bus Crazy

Year: 1993
Coachwork: bluebird
Engine: 5.9 Cummins, Allison AT1545
Rated Cap: 2
an electric fan is unable to move as much air as an engine powered fan. i'd fix the problem first.
Old 07-23-2017, 05:22 PM   #4