Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-13-2017, 04:08 PM   #1
Mini-Skoolie
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Posts: 46
Year: 2000
Chassis: School bus
Engine: Cummins
Fault code retrieval

Can anyone tell me how to retrieve the fault codes on a 99 fs65 5.9isb ?
Doe69936 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2017, 04:17 PM   #2
Bus Nut
 
2kool4skool's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: Spring Valley AZ
Posts: 959
Year: 2000
Coachwork: Bluebird
Engine: 5.9 Cummins
Rated Cap: 2 elderly children, 1 cat
You can borrow my Scangauge D. Where are you?
__________________
Don, Mary and Spooky the cat.
2kool4skool is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2017, 04:22 PM   #3
Bus Geek
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Eastern WA
Posts: 2,605
Year: 2002
Coachwork: Bluebird
Chassis: All American RE (A3RE)
Engine: Cummins ISC (8.3)
Rated Cap: 72
My 2002 Bluebird with an 8.3 Cummins has a switch next to the J1939 port that if held down while turning the ignition switch on will cause the codes to flash on an indicator on the dash. Kind of clumsy but functional if you don't have a scangauge.

Not sure if yours has the same but it may be worth investigating.
PNW_Steve is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2017, 04:39 PM   #4
Mini-Skoolie
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Posts: 46
Year: 2000
Chassis: School bus
Engine: Cummins
Thanks for the offer it’s very generous unfortunately I’m in Arkansas and I think you are in Arizona still scan gauge d? I use a scan gauge 2on my power stroke maybe I can find one
Doe69936 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2017, 04:54 PM   #5
Bus Nut
 
golfersmurf57's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Posts: 290
Quote:
Originally Posted by Doe69936 View Post
Can anyone tell me how to retrieve the fault codes on a 99 fs65 5.9isb ?
Cummins quick check is a hand held but they're cosecktly. If it's obd2 ford truck software will do it. If it's Seitz connector you're talking OTC or Cummins quick check. My snap on red brick would do the powerstrokes.
That's the nice thing about the IHC's they can pull up codes from the dash.

Sent from my LGL64VL using Tapatalk
golfersmurf57 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2017, 06:03 PM   #6
Bus Nut
 
2kool4skool's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: Spring Valley AZ
Posts: 959
Year: 2000
Coachwork: Bluebird
Engine: 5.9 Cummins
Rated Cap: 2 elderly children, 1 cat
Quote:
Originally Posted by PNW_Steve View Post
My 2002 Bluebird with an 8.3 Cummins has a switch next to the J1939 port that if held down while turning the ignition switch on will cause the codes to flash on an indicator on the dash. Kind of clumsy but functional if you don't have a scangauge.

Not sure if yours has the same but it may be worth investigating.
Dash Fault Codes | blue-bird
__________________
Don, Mary and Spooky the cat.
2kool4skool is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2017, 06:07 PM   #7
Mini-Skoolie
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Posts: 46
Year: 2000
Chassis: School bus
Engine: Cummins
Ok thanks for the info
Doe69936 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2017, 06:09 PM   #8
Mini-Skoolie
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Posts: 46
Year: 2000
Chassis: School bus
Engine: Cummins
Yeah I wish it was obd2 like my 7.3
Doe69936 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2017, 02:57 PM   #9
Mini-Skoolie
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Posts: 46
Year: 2000
Chassis: School bus
Engine: Cummins
Ok so now I’m probably going to bite the bullet and get some new tools cause I don’t get any codes of the diagnostic button but when I drive it the check engine light comes on intermittently and it starts to lose a little rpms until it goes out again so I’m figuring I’ll need to see freeze frames and live data so anyone have any suggestions on hardware ? I’m not running a fleet here so the $1000 fix all kits are a ways out of budget but I am going to need something
Doe69936 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2017, 03:27 PM   #10
Bus Nut
 
2kool4skool's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: Spring Valley AZ
Posts: 959
Year: 2000
Coachwork: Bluebird
Engine: 5.9 Cummins
Rated Cap: 2 elderly children, 1 cat
FWIW.
I had SES light often and it would clear itself. I can read my codes but you may be having the same, it sounds the same.

I unplugged the multi-pin plug that connects the engine to the chassis and slathered some dielectric grease on it and pugged and unplugged it several times. This prevented any codes for a long time. Recently had the problem again and I then replaced the crank position sensor and no more codes or power loss. The code was an RPM signal issue.
__________________
Don, Mary and Spooky the cat.
2kool4skool is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:07 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.