Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 09-07-2019, 08:45 PM   #1
Mini-Skoolie

No Start - Cummins 8.3L

I am seeking some diagnostic help. So, as it seems to be with quite a few of us, I am not a mechanic. That said, I will likely get things wrong in the description of this problem but I will do my best to convey it accurately and completely. I appreciate anything you all can do to help.

Here is my problem in a nutshell... My engine started with no issues one month ago. Now it will crank just fine but fails to start. It does not sputter, smoke or seem to try to start. There is no smoke or diesel smell during the start attempts. There is fuel in the tank.

The details... 2005 BB AA RE, straight six 8.3L Cummins ISC. I do not know much more about the engine but would like to. If anyone can help me locate the serial number that would be very helpful.

One month ago... I start the bus once a month and run it for 30-45 minutes (either driving around town or idling). I attempted to start last month and found the starting batteries were at their end (I knew this was coming as I had to jump start it the month before). I was not able to jump start it this month. I replaced the batteries (new) and started the bus up with no issues. I ran the motor for about 45 minutes. I noticed at some point during that 45 minutes that the "service engine soon" light came on. No other issues, it ran perfectly as far as I could tell. After that 45 minute run I turned off the motor and disconnected the positive side of the batteries to store for the month.