Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 02-01-2019, 11:19 PM   #1

Urgent newbie question about motor!

Hey everyone! I've been looking online for some busses for sale. I came across what I think might be a good deal but I'm no mechanic and wanted your guy's opinion. I'm looking at a 2003 Thomas School Transit FE. Capacity is 71 Passengers. Diesel fueled with HYD Brakes and a 5.9 CUMMINS Engine with 102,199 miles on it. Asking price is $4,200. Do you guys think this is a good deal? I know the Cummins 5.9 is a popular choice on this site. Any and all advice would be great appreciated! I've also found some other Thomas and Blue Bird busses for sale that are around the same year (2002-2003) for $3,000-4,000 but they're around 145,000 miles give or take.

Nikkob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2019, 12:01 AM   #2
Bus Geek

Year: 1999
Coachwork: Genesis
Chassis: International
Engine: DT466/3060
Rated Cap: 77
While not a bad motor, It is not high on the desirable list. More important, what transmission is in it? With the 5.9 I would suspect it's 545 and in that case , no, it would not be a good deal. A bunch of nice buses just went for $1800-$2300 on Public Surplus.
Don't trust the speedometer on that bus, It is the most commonly replaced item on a bus as the solder joints fail soon after being put in service. It would be easier for us to find a bus for you if we knew where you were? Go to the UsrCP and fill out your profile.
o1marc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2019, 12:59 AM   #3
Bus Crazy

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nikkob View Post