Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-26-2016, 09:11 PM   #21
Bus Crazy
 
ol trunt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: So Cal
Posts: 1,962
Year: 1935
Coachwork: Superior
Chassis: Chevy
Engine: 317 ci/tid / Isuzu
What's a satellite?
ol trunt is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2016, 12:51 PM   #22
Mini-Skoolie
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: Windmill Gap, WV
Posts: 15
Year: 1986
Coachwork: Ford
Chassis: E350
Engine: 6.9 Diesel
I've had Wild Blue/Exceed satellite internet service and it was expensive. And slow!

I just changed my AT&T plan to unlimited data, but can't use the phone as a hot spot or use MiFi adapters on this plan. But I can stream all the data/video/music on my phone and cast it to my TV.
JoeyBigBlind is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2016, 02:06 PM   #23
Skoolie
 
mikeypj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 157
I've had sprint for years and have traveled the desert SW and I've been off road 20 miles from major roads and farther from the cities. I've had no problem with service. The one place that was a dead zone was Utah. I haven't done the PNW yet but I figure it will be like the old days...no phone no internet and if SHTF I'll do like I did 30 years ago..deal with it myself..lol


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
mikeypj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2016, 05:08 PM   #24
Bus Nut
 
GreyCoyote's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: Danglebury, Tejas
Posts: 310
Year: 1999
Coachwork: Blue Bird
Chassis: IH 3800
Engine: Navistar DT466E
Rated Cap: 72 passenger
If you want free email access anywhere in world, with no fees, and no "provider" to turn-off your account, all it takes is an amateur radio license (General or Extra class) a cheap computer and an HF rig.

If interested, google "Winlink 2000".

Many blue-water sailors use this system to great advantage. It is just about bulletproof. And when not running in a data mode, you can talk voice all over the globe. (I bagged McMurdo, Antarctica from Texas the other night with just 100 watts and a wire antenna).
__________________
"You can finally say you have enough horsepower when you leave two black streaks from corner to corner"
(Mark Donohue, famed TransAm driver)
GreyCoyote is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2016, 05:33 PM   #25
Bus Crazy
 
ol trunt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: So Cal
Posts: 1,962
Year: 1935
Coachwork: Superior
Chassis: Chevy
Engine: 317 ci/tid / Isuzu
GC, I just read the following-- http://tcares.org/tcares/images/ARES...uide_jun09.pdf
Does this pretty much cover the subject?
ol trunt is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2016, 07:10 PM   #26
Bus Nut
 
GreyCoyote's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: Danglebury, Tejas
Posts: 310
Year: 1999
Coachwork: Blue Bird
Chassis: IH 3800
Engine: Navistar DT466E
Rated Cap: 72 passenger
Quote:
Originally Posted by ol trunt View Post
GC, I just read the following-- http://tcares.org/tcares/images/ARES...uide_jun09.pdf
Does this pretty much cover the subject?
That is an old version, but its 98% correct and it is an excellent overview. Good find!

Note that equipment cost isnt trivial, but basically ANY HF rig made in the last 20 years will do splendidly. You can pick-up very servicable "boat anchor" units for next to nothing on FleaBay, eHam, etc. Or get a cheap, new Chinese rig for a couple hundred bucks. Its all good.

As many folks on here tend towards radical self reliance, this may be a good subject for a new thread. However, until then, if you want to start on the path towards becoming an amateur radio operator, check-out the ARRL (American Radio Relay League). You can also tap into your local ARES (Amateur Radio Emergency Service) group. The latter folks will certainly be experts on Winlink (we all use it), and part of their mission is to "Elmer" the noobs, so they will be an excellent resource.

Becoming a ham may sound scary and technical, but its not. No Morse code is required and there are only 35 questions (need 26 to pass) on the Technician exam. There are lots of (free!) study aids and the test is only about $15. I'm an FCC Volunteer Examiner and I can tell you that the pass rate is huge: Only 4 of the 86 people I have tested failed to walk out of the test session without a license.

So... Go for it! Having free remote-access email as well as a skill that will be supremely useful if (when?) the grid goes down is a winner in my book.
__________________
"You can finally say you have enough horsepower when you leave two black streaks from corner to corner"
(Mark Donohue, famed TransAm driver)
GreyCoyote is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2016, 09:02 PM   #27
Bus Nut
 
AlleyCat67's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Music City USA
Posts: 737
Year: 2005
Coachwork: Thomas
Chassis: Freightliner
Engine: Detroit MBE906
Rated Cap: 72
I've held a Technician license since 1995... have been out of the hobby for a while (when my old Icom HT died and I didn't have the funds to replace it)... consequently I've never felt the need to upgrade my license (though I have renewed it when it expired), but maybe now I should in light of this.

73 de KF4FOY
__________________
My bus - Jasmine - External Build Website - YouTube Channel - TN/KY Meetup Group
As a level 1 burglar, Bilbo got a pony when he accompanied the level 60 dwarves on the Smaug the Dragon raid. Those powerlevelers probably invited him solely so he could trigger fellowship attacks for them.
AlleyCat67 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2017, 08:22 PM   #28
Mini-Skoolie
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: Park Hills, Mo.
Posts: 39
When I used to drive a big truck over the road I found lots of free wifi locations. Iowa rest areas have free wifi. Ohio turnpike travel plazas have free wifi plus free showers. There are many others and hopefully folks can post what they've found. You can also purchase a wifi card from Pilot/Flying J truckstops you can reload once a month. I used to run with a Verizon usb modem unlimited data on the 3g network. Gone now but I could connect anywhere, except Woodward Oklahoma. For television I just carried around a basic 18" satellite dish for directv and set it up at night when I shut down, maybe 3 minutes max to find the signal. Over the air broadcasts are getting much better nowadays too. I cut the cord here at the house and I just use a 150 mile range antenna. It can pick up about 30 channels. As long as I have MeTV I'm a happy camper.
Motrukdriver is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2017, 10:45 PM   #29
Bus Geek
 
Tango's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Houston, Texas
Posts: 6,158
Year: 1946
Coachwork: Chevrolet/Wayne
Chassis: 1- 1/2 ton
Engine: Cummins 4BT
Rated Cap: 15
150 mile range? Sounds great...what kind of antennae?
Tango is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2017, 04:12 PM   #30
Mini-Skoolie
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: Park Hills, Mo.
Posts: 39
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tango View Post
150 mile range? Sounds great...what kind of antennae?
This is the one I bought.

https://www.amazon.com/Amplified-Dig.../dp/B004NQMCDK
Motrukdriver is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:25 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.