Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 12-17-2017, 07:42 PM   #1

Year: 1990
Engine: Cummins 8.3ta
12V 35AH Golf Cart Batteries for Solar System?

Hey there,

I'm completely new to this and it feels like I'm trying to learn another language. I could really use some help and guidance when it comes to figuring out if the setup I'm planning will be compatible.

I purchased four 100W solar panels, a 40A MPPT charge controller, a 3000W pure sine wave inverter (I'm planning to add more panels when I can afford it.)

Here's my question:Will 12V 35AH golf cart batteries work with this system, and how many would I need? I was thinking of using 6-8 of these batteries and running them parallel, but I don't even know if that would be the thing to do.

Any help is super appreciated!

Thanks!!!

zm1994 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2017, 07:54 PM   #2
Bus Geek

Year: 1999
Coachwork: Thomas
Chassis: Saf-T-Liner MVP ER
Engine: Cummins 6CTA8.3 Mechanical MD3060
Rated Cap: 46 Coach Seats, 40 foot
Quote:
Originally Posted by zm1994 View Post
Hey there,

I'm completely new to this and it feels like I'm trying to learn another language. I could really use some help and guidance when it comes to figuring out if the setup I'm planning will be compatible.

I purchased four 100W solar panels, a 40A MPPT charge controller, a 3000W pure sine wave inverter (I'm planning to add more panels when I can afford it.)

Here's my question:Will 12V 35AH golf cart batteries work with this system, and how many would I need? I was thinking of using 6-8 of these batteries and running them parallel, but I don't even know if that would be the thing to do.

Any help is super appreciated!

Thanks!!!
The usual batteries people use are the 6V golf cart batteries.