Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-15-2018, 06:48 PM   #1
New Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Posts: 4
12v DC lights daisy chained on three-way AC switches.

Hey y'all

For my bus, I want to use 12v lights. I know its fine to use AC switches, as long as the amperage is kept low (they're 3watt lights so I think we're okay )

But how do I wire them to work on a three way switch? So I can have one switch in my bedroom and one in the entrance of the bus.

I also want to wire the lights so one switch shuts off two lights. I'm just not sure how to do these two things.

Any help? Or photos would be awesome!
lilythebus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2018, 08:46 PM   #2
Bus Crazy
 
joeblack5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: pa
Posts: 1,052
Year: 98
Coachwork: 1. Corbeil & 2. Thomas
Chassis: 1 ford e350 2 mercedes
Engine: 7.3 powerstroke & MBE906
Good idea,
Same way you would wire it for 120VAC, google" wiring 3 way switch"
Later J
joeblack5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2018, 10:31 PM   #3
Bus Crazy
 
roach711's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Farmington Hills, Mi (Detroit area)
Posts: 1,733
Year: 2000
Coachwork: Eldorado Aerotech 24'
Chassis: Ford E-450 Cutaway Bus
Engine: 7.3L Powerstroke
Rated Cap: 19
You need three way switches that have three wiring lugs. How you wire them depends on where the supply hot wire comes in. As Joe said, Google will show you the way.



https://www.familyhandyman.com/elect...itch/view-all/



AC rated switches will arc badly when used in DC circuits and may not last very long. The Internet has many different styles of DC rated switches for RVs in stock and ready to ship!



To have one switch power two lights just run the switched hot wire from the switch to the hot side of the first light then run another hot lead from light 1 to light 2. Another way to go would be to run two switched hot wires from the switch, one to each light. Just a matter of which way uses the least wire.
__________________
The Roach Motel
roach711 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2018, 06:44 AM   #4
Bus Crazy
 
somewhereinusa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Andrews,Indiana
Posts: 1,832
Year: 1991
Coachwork: Bluebird
Chassis: AARE
Engine: 3116 Cat 250hp
Rated Cap: Her, me and Molly
You can use RC controlled relays for your lights. I have a four gang controller in each room. You can have multiple transmitter for each one. No need for a three way switch. It also saves having to run wires in the walls for switches. I mounted the transmitter in the normal place for a light switch.
somewhereinusa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2018, 12:52 PM   #5
Bus Crazy
 
joeblack5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: pa
Posts: 1,052
Year: 98
Coachwork: 1. Corbeil & 2. Thomas
Chassis: 1 ford e350 2 mercedes
Engine: 7.3 powerstroke & MBE906
Cool. But if you go that route be sure that is relay switched and not with a triac or other semi conductor device because in general they only work properly with Ac voltage.

Later j
joeblack5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:42 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.