Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 03-09-2018, 01:32 PM   #1
Almost There

12v VERSUS 24v

So I am working on a 1978 MC8 Coach Bus....

It runs a 24v system on the coach side but I am not sure what all the other lights/headlights and the like run off of.

I am told there is a 24v to 12v converter in the bus but I haven't found it yet...

I am pulling out everything passenger bus related and starting fresh...only the bus running lights and such are going to stay,

How can I tell what voltage the device uses?

I am NOT an electrician...

PNWorBUST72 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2018, 02:16 PM   #2
Bus Crazy

Year: 1998
Coachwork: MCI
Chassis: 102 EL3
Engine: DD 60
In the absence of any documentation or markings, I would connect a voltmeter to the +/_ wires, turn the thing on, and see what the meter reads (set to the 'volts' option). A clip on meter might make it even easier.

I can tell you that my MCI (102-EL3 - so much different model) does in fact run the headlights, tail lights, marker lights, etc... from 12 VDC.
JDOnTheGo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2018, 04:09 PM   #3
Almost There

suggestion on a decent entry level voltmeter? I am thinking I am going to have to track down alot of wiring here...
Old 03-09-2018, 04:17 PM   #4
Bus Geek

Year: 1997
Coachwork: Bluebird
Chassis: TC2000 FE
Engine: Cummins 5.9
Rated Cap: 72
You can get a free one (with purchase) at Harbor Freight.

Harbor Freight Tools Coupon Database - Free coupons, 25 percent off coupons, toolbox coupons - 7 FUNCTION DIGITAL MULTIMETER
Old 03-09-2018, 04:45 PM   #5
Bus Geek

Year: 1999
Coachwork: Genesis
Chassis: International
Engine: DT466/3060
Rated Cap: 77
Quote:
Originally Posted by PNWorBUST72 View Post
suggestion on a decent entry level voltmeter? I am thinking I am going to have to track down alot of wiring here...